2019 State Championships

2018 || 2017 || 2016

Lahainaluna’s Nanea Estrella beat Baldwin’s Jahnea Miguel for the 138-pound title at the Pa’ani Challenge and will now seek a third state title as a junior. Photo by Dennis Oda/Star-Advertiser.

The 2019 Texaco/HHSAA State Wrestling Championships take place Feb. 20 and 21 on another Wednesday/Thursday combination.

Hawaii Prep World will provide up-to-the-minute coverage throughout the entire two days beginning with the first qualifying matches on Wednesday that start at 10 a.m.



Leilehua’s Kelani Corbett will try to become the fifth girl in state history to complete a slam this year, joining Caylene Valdez of Moanalua (2003), Kamehameha’s Randolyn Nohara (2007) Teshya Alo of Kamehameha (2016) and Lalelei Mataafa of Lahainaluna (2016).

Corbett is seeded first at 168 pounds after winning her previous titles at 155. She might have to go through a fellow state champion to get there, as Konawaena’s Kapoina Bailey is also in her bracket. Corbett opens against the winner between Lei Robinson of Campbell and Waipahu’s Grace Tanuvasa.

One other bracket can feature a rematch of reigning state champions. Baldwin’s Jahnea Miguel, who is undefeated in eight state matches, can meet Kamehameha’s Paige Respicio at 138 pounds. Miguel beat Respicio in the 2017 semifinals.

Ashley Gooman of Kamehameha will go for her third state title after losing in the final last year, and Nanea Estrella of Lahainaluna is looking for her third title as a junior. Girls looking to repeat include Lahainaluna’s Sami Saribay (107), Baldwin’s Waipuilani Estrella Beauchamp at 132 and Roxie Umu of Kealakehe (184).

The boys who will carry state titles into the arena opted not to challenge each other.

On the boys side, Kamehameha’s Kysen Terukina looks to get his third title as a junior, this time at 126 pounds.

Baldwin’s Colby Ravida will look to repeat at 113, as will Elijah Asuncion of Moanalua at 120, Na Menehune’s Noah Wusstig at 145, sophomore Brandon Pagurayan of Kapolei at 152 and Rysan Leong of Kalaheo at 170.

One unique change in the tournaments this year is the inclusion of “fishtails,” where preliminary rounds take on an added urgency for lower-seeded wrestlers. Instead of going to consolation rounds after a loss, those athletes are out of the tournament. Wrestlers were previously guaranteed two matches.

ILH boys were rewarded with five top seeds, with the MIL and OIA each getting four. The MIL had the most top seeds on the girls side with six, followed by the OIA (4), ILH (3) and BIIF (1).

Each weight class will have its own page.


106 pounds
113 pounds
120 pounds
126 pounds
132 pounds
138 pounds
145 pounds
152 pounds
160 pounds
170 pounds
182 pounds
195 pounds
220 pounds
285 pounds


97 pounds
102 pounds
107 pounds
112 pounds
117 pounds
122 pounds
127 pounds
132 pounds
138 pounds
145 pounds
155 pounds
168 pounds
184 pounds
225 pounds