Boys 160

2019 State Championships

Moanalua’s Boltyn Taam, right, looks to follow up an OIA championship with a state title at 160 pounds. Photo by Bruce Asato/Star-Advertiser.



(1) Boltyn Taam (Moan) vs. (2) Braden Akima (KSK)
— Taam, D 7-6

Taam: “I worked really hard for this. It’s been a long journey my old team to my new team. Both great teams. I think we did good today. I feel appreciated a lot. I love these guys.”

Notes: Taam nearly gets caught riding it out as Akima gets a point for stalling and then suddenly a takedown at the end to make it close.


Nathan Miller (Mil) vs. Jhael JB Jose (Lei)
— Jose, D 7-1


(4) Keaka Kuaana (Lah) def. Hudson Pak (Pun)
— Kuaana, D 3-2



(1) Boltyn Taam (Moan) vs. (4) Keaka Kuaana (Lah)
— Taam, D 8-1
Jhael JB Jose (Lei) vs. (2) Braden Akima (KSK)
— Akima, D 9-2

Taam, the top seed and OIA champion, will see a familiar face in the final if he can get past the unknown Kuaana. Taam beat Jose and Akima in states on his way to his runner-up finish last year. While the MIL champ is in his first state tournament, Jose has as much state experience as anyone with a 9-5 career record and two medals in the bank and one on the way. Akima, the ILH king, won two matches and took fifth place at states last year and finished a spot ahead of Jose with a third at Officials. Taam took second behind 152 boss Branden Pagurayan.


(1) Boltyn Taam (Moan) vs. Craig Nava (HNL)
— Taam, dec. 3-0
Hudson Pak (Pun) vs. (4) Keaka Kuaana (Lah)
— Kuaana, dec. 7-5
Timothy Uriam (Kapo) vs. Jhael JB Jose (Lei)
— Jose, MD 16-3
Nathan Miller (Mil) vs. (2) Braden Akima (KSK)
— Akima, MD 11-0


(1) Boltyn Taam (Moan) vs. Cole Cadinha (Kais)
–Taam, TF 20-5
Craig Nava (HNL) vs. Anson Spain (Waik)
— Nava by dec., 12-5
Hudson Pak (Pun) vs. Isaiah Villanueva (KSH)
–Pak by fall, 2:54
(4) Keaka Kuaana (Lah) vs. Mason Andrews (Rad)
–Kuaana by default
(3) Emelio Acia (Keaau) vs. Timothy Uriam (Kapo)
–Uriam by default
Leitin Phillips Clark (Han) vs. Jhael JB Jose (Lei)
–JB Jose by major decision, 10-2
Austin Murray (Bald) vs. Nathan Miller (Mil)
–Miller by fall, 2:51
(2) Braden Akima (KSK) vs. Orin Ching (ULS)
–Akima by fall, 2:00


Cole Cadinha (Kais) vs. Chase Kaseli (Waip)
— Cadinha, dec. 3-1
Mason Andrews (Rad) vs. Shane Berry (PC)
— Andrews, dec. 9-3
Timothy Uriam (Kapo) vs. Zachary Kaliko (StL)
— Uriam, dec. 8-3
Orin Ching (ULS) vs. Alsten Becktel (Hilo)
— Ching, fall 3:58


Cole Cadinha (Kais) vs. Anson Spain (Waik)
— Spain, dec. 14-10
Isaiah Villanueva (KSH) vs. Mason Andrews (Rad)
— Andrews, dec. 6-2
(3) Emelio Acia (Keaau) vs. Leitin Phillips Clark (Han)
— Clark, dec. 8-4
Austin Murray (Bald) vs. Orin Ching (ULS)
— Murray, fall 2:22

Anson Spain (Waik) vs. Nathan Miller (Mil)
— Miller, fall :35
Mason Andrews (Rad) vs. Timothy Uriam (Kapo)
— Andrews, dec. 5-0
Leitin Phillips Clark (Han) vs. Hudson Pak (Pun)
— Pak, fall 1:23
Austin Murray (Bald) vs. Craig Nava (HNL)
— Nava, fall 4:20

Nathan Miller (Mil) vs. Mason Andrews (Rad)
— Miller, D 7-3
Hudson Pak (Pun) vs. Craig Nava (HNL)
— Pak, D 13-10

Nathan Miller (Mil) vs. (4) Keaka Kuaana (Lah)
— Miller, fall 4:48
Hudson Pak (Pun) vs. Jhael JB Jose (Lei)
— Jose, D 7-1