GLORY DAYS: 28 Oahu coaches make an even 14-14 split on offense, defense

University of Hawaii football coach Bob Wagner, left, chatted with UH strength coach Kale Ane during fall camp in August 1989. Star-Bulletin file photo by Mike Tsukamoto.

Hawaii Prep World’s Glory Days series has brought to life the stories from the football playing careers of Oahu high school football’s 28 head coaches.

They all played in high school and many went on to play in college.

It turns out that there’s 14 on the offensive side and 14 on the defensive side. They’re listed below in alphabetical order by position.

(Note: A player’s secondary position is in parentheses. Parentheses is also used to better define some positions.)
Quarterbacks (6)

>> Bryson Carvalho
>> Sterling Carvalho
>> John Hao
>> Darren Johnson (WR)
>> Fred Salanoa
>> Pat Silva

Running backs (3)
>> Robin Kami
>> Darrell Poole
>> Daniel Sanchez

Receivers (3)
>> Kip Botelho (slot/DB)
>> Savaii Eselu (TE)
>> Kili Watson (TE)

Offensive linemen (2)
>> Kale Ane (C)
>> Joe Wong

Defensive linemen (6)

>> Darren Hernandez
>> Wendell Look (DE)
>> Abu Maafala (DE)
>> Scott Melemai (NG)
>> David Tautofi (DE)
>> Rod York (OL)

Linebackers (4)
>> Lincoln Barit (OL)
>> Mike Fanoga
>> Kui Kahooilihala
>> Cal Lee

Defensive backs (4)
>> Eddie Klaneski (S)
>> Mark Kurisu (S/OL)
>> Wendell Say (RB)
>> Tim Seaman

If you missed any of the stories, you can go back and check out any of the 28 parts of the series here:

>> Coach Darren Johnson and the 2019 Campbell Sabers
>> Coach John Hao and the 2019 Castle Knights
>> Coach Eddie Klaneski and the 2019 Damien Monarchs
>> Coach David Tautofi and the 2019 Kaimuki Bulldogs
>> Coach Kale Ane and the 2019 Punahou Buffanblu
>> Coach Mike Fanoga and the 2019 Waianae Seariders
>> Coach Bryson Carvalho and the 2019 Waipahu Marauders
>> Coach Mark Kurisu and the 2019 Leilehua Mules
>> Coach Pat Silva and the 2019 McKinley Tigers
>> Coach Kili Watson and the 2019 Nanakuli Golden Hawks
>> Coach Tim Seaman and the 2019 Kaiser Cougars
>> Coach Daniel Sanchez and the 2019 Farrington Governors
>> Coach Scott Melemai and the 2019 Kalani Falcons
>> Coach Lincoln Barit and the 2019 Waialua Bulldogs
>> Coach Savaii Eselu and the 2019 Moanalua Na Menehune
>> Coach Wendell Say and the 2019 Aiea Na Alii
>> Coach Sterling Carvalho and the 2019 Kahuku Red Raiders
>> Coach Abu Maafala and the 2019 Kamehameha Warriors
>> Coach Wendell Look and the 2019 ‘Iolani Raiders
>> Coach Robin Kami and the 2019 Pearl City Chargers
>> Coach Fred Salanoa and the 2019 Radford Rams
>> Coach Kui Kahooilihala and the 2019 Roosevelt Rough Riders
>> Coach Cal Lee and the 2019 Saint Louis Crusaders
>> Coach Darrell Poole and the 2019 Kalaheo Mustangs
>> Coach Kip Botelho and the 2019 Pac-Five Wolfpack
>> Coach Darren Hernandez and the 2019 Kapolei Hurricanes
>> Coach Joe Wong and the 2019 Kailua Surfriders
>> Coach Rod York and the 2019 Mililani Trojans


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email