GAME NIGHT 9/1: Kaimuki/Roosevelt

Kaimuki's Chezz Ramos-Diaz was sandwiched by Roosevelt's Zach Hamasaki, left, and Sean Matsumoto during first-half action of the 2007 OIA White Division Championship game. This was the last time the Rough Riders played an OIA playoff game. Honolulu Star-Bulletin photo by Jamm Aquino.

Head coach: David Tautofi
2017 Bulldogs roster


Head coach: Kui Kahooilihala
2017 Rough Riders roster


Kaimuki 14, Roosevelt 6 (Final)

Kaimuki 14, Roosevelt 6, 3:08 left fourth quarter
Elijah Lemalu catches a 15-yard scoring pass from Jordan Soloman. Burton makes PAT.

Kaimuki 7 Roosevelt 6, 8:47 left fourth quarter
The Bulldogs take the lead on Ieke Seei-Cleveland’s 2-yard run and Richard Burton’s PAT kick)

Roosevelt 6, Kaimuki 0, end of third quarter

Each team has had two possessions in the third quarter and failed to score.
Kaimuki ball, 34 seconds remaining in third

Second half if underway

The Rough Riders had 159 yards of total offense before halftime. The Bulldogs gained 77 yards and lost a pair of fumbles.

Roosevelt 6, Kaimuki 0, halftime

Roosevelt 6, Kaimuki 0; 10:54 left second quarter
Shastyn Kekahuna scores on 2-yard option keeper. Run failed on the PAT.

Kaimuki 0, Roosevelt 0; end of first quarter

Both teams punt on their next possessions.
No score 2:49 left first quarter

Kaimuki turns the ball over on downs on first possession.

Roosevelt turns the ball over on downs on first possession.

Kaimuki won the coin toss and deferred to the second half.


NOTES: Kaimuki has won the last two meetings, the last time Roosevelt won was 2014. Kaimuki can start with three wins in its first four games for the first time since 2011, when it started 8-0. Roosevelt held Ieke Seei-Cleveland to 65 rushing yards and 99 total yards in a 28-7 loss last year.

Top performances in the series
Kaimuki passing vs. Roosevelt: Jordan Caires with 240 in 1999
Kaimuki rushing vs. Roosevelt: Justin Paredes with 242 in 2007
Kaimuki receiving vs. Roosevelt: Chris Fiamate with 146 in 2008
Roosevelt passing vs. Kaimuki: Keola Young with 281 in 1981
Roosevelt rushing vs. Kaimuki: Dwayne Keomaka with 162 in 1975 and Shaedon Kalei with 162 in 2014
Roosevelt receiving vs. Kaimuki: Nathan Dung with 178 in 1981


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email