Latest news

Latest news

Top seeds face tough draws in state tennis

By Jerry Campany on May 7, 2015

Kealakehe’s Michelle Uyeda provided one of the few surprises in the first two rounds of the singles bracket of the Carlsmith Ball / HHSAA State Tennis Championships at Central Oahu Regional Park on Thursday. Uyeda, who reached the quarterfinals last year before losing to eventual champion Taylor Lau of St. Francis, beat OIA champion Lisa Owen 6-2, 6-3 then took out Kohala’s Gabrielle Bartolome 6-0, 6-1. A rematch with Lau is next for Uyeda at 8:30 a.m. on Friday. Lau […]

OIA tennis championships

By Jerry Campany on April 25, 2015

Boys singles Andre Ilagan, Farrington, def. Zion Heaven, Campbell, 6-4, 6-3 Ilagan beat Chad Aoki of Kalani 6-1, 6-1 in the semis while Heaven beat Kalani’s Darrell Huang 6-4, 7-6 (2). Girls singles Lisa Owen, Kaiser, def. Chantelle Lopez, Kapolei, 6-1, 6-1 Owen beat Leilani Yamanouchi in the semifinals 7-5, 6-1 and Lopez, the fifth seed out of the West, beat Halie Chan of Mililani 7-6 (4), 6-4. Boys doubles championship Jace Akagi Okuma and Davin Lee of Mililani beat […]

OIA tennis semifinals set

By Jerry Campany on April 24, 2015

Kapolei’s Chantelle Lopez pulled off the biggest upset in the girls singles draw on the first day of the OIA tennis championships at Central Oahu Regional Park. Lopez, who entered the tournament as the fifth seed from the West, swept Moanalua’s Bailee Kawamura 6-2, 6-1 in the first round to draw a match against West champion Sophia Nishimura of Aiea, who swept Yuk Ling Lam of McKinley 6-0, 6-0 in the first round. Lopez lost the first set 4-6 but […]

OIA tennis brackets

By Jerry Campany on April 22, 2015

With Alyssa Tobita graduated and Sage Leaman off the bigger things, there will be a new pair of OIA tennis singles champions crowned on Saturday at Central Oahu Regional Park. The tournament begins April 24. Farrington’s Andre Ilagan is the top seed in the boys’ draw and Lisa Owen of Kaiser is the top seed on the girls side. Kalani’s Rayden Murata and Koby Murata are favored to win the boys doubles title and Kahuku’s Salamasina Tei and Ana Huhane […]

Lau, Lam top seeds in ILH tennis

By Jerry Campany on April 17, 2015

State champion Taylor Lau of St. Francis is the top seed in the Clay Benham ILH tennis tournament next week in girls singles, with Punahou’s Kawika Lam predictably in the top spot in boys singles. The tournament begins on Monday at Central Oahu Regional Park and will declare champions on Wednesday. Lau gets a bye in the first round, her first match will be between the winner between Allyson Trang of Hawaii Baptist and Niki Tamashiro of Punahou. Skyla Alcon […]

Spikers lead LOI fall signing class

By Paul Honda on November 12, 2014

A dozen volleyball players were among nearly three dozen student-athletes who signed their letters of intent early Wednesday morning at the Elks Lodge in Waikiki. The event, hosted each signing season by Pacific Islands Athletic Alliance (PIAA), featured a multitude of sports for the fall signing period. The 12 volleyball players include UH signee McKenna Granato, who sparked Punahou to the state championship last week. Ten of the 12 spikers are heading to the mainland, including Kamehameha teammates Tiyana Hallums […]

Baseball, volleyball standouts sign letters

By Paul Honda on November 13, 2013

Eight volleyball players and eight baseball players were among the signees at the Pacific Islands Athletic Alliance letter-of-intent signing event this morning at Elks Lodge Waikiki. In all, 29 student-athletes signed letters, including record-breaking swimmer Jasmine Mau of Punahou. The senior chose Cal, and the setting for her official decision could not have been more appropriate. It was at the Elks Lodge, as a 3-year-old, where Mau learned to swim. Two-time girls singles tennis state champion Alyssa Tobita of Mililani […]

Video: Kagawa, Rhoden, Villegas sign with West Point

By Paul Honda on March 25, 2013

Shaun Kagawa (Kamehameha-Hawaii), Paul-Andrew Rhoden (Campbell) and Jaryn Villegas (Leilehua) signed with Army on Friday, March 22, 2013 in a ceremony at Fort Shafter. Part 1 Part 2 Part 3