Girls basketball All-State teams: 1998-2007

Sunday will mark the 30th consecutive Hawaii girls basketball All-State team when the Honolulu Star-Advertiser releases its 2018 edition.

In the lead up to the release of the All-State team, we will look back at the first 30 years — 10 at a time — to remember some of the great girls basketball players of all time.


Round 2: 1998 to 2007
Previous: 1988 to 1997

Note: Frank Mauz did a girls basketball All-State team for the Honolulu Advertiser in 1979 and the Star-Bulletin did one in 1982, but the continual year-by-year teams didn’t officially start until 1988 with the Honolulu Advertiser. The Star-Bulletin has All-State teams in 1989 and ’90 but didn’t do another until 1997.

Players of the year
1998: Onaona Miller, Sr, Punahou
1999: Brandy Richardson, Soph, Kalaheo
2000: Brandy Richardson, Jr, Kalaheo
2001: *Aritta Lane, Sr, Aiea (Star-Bulletin)
2001: *Brandy Richardson, Sr, Kalaheo (Advertiser)
* — Star-Bulletin chose co-players of the year
2002: Megan Ching, Jr, Kamehameha
2003: Rachel Kane, Sr, Punahou
2004: Nancy Hoist, Sr, Konawaena
2005: Shawna-Lei Kuehu, Fr, Punahou (Star-Bulletin)
2005: Shanna-Lei Dacanay, Sr, Punahou (Advertiser)
2006: Shawna-Lei Kuehu, Soph, Punahou
2007: Keisha Kanekoa, Sr, Honokaa (Star-Bulletin)
2007: Jazzmin Awa-Williams, Sr, Konawaena (Advertiser)












  1. Burgla March 7, 2018 8:37 pm

    This is a great article!

  2. ??? March 8, 2018 6:50 pm


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email