Girls basketball All-State teams: 1988-1997

A week from today will mark the 30th anniversary of the first Hawaii girls basketball All-State team when the Honolulu Star-Advertiser releases its 2018 edition.

In the lead up to the release of the All-State team, we will look back at the first 30 years — 10 at a time — to remember some of the great girls basketball players of all time.


Up first: 1988 to 1997

Note: The Honolulu Advertiser ran its first All-State team in 1988. The Star-Bulletin followed with All-State teams in 1989 and ’90 before going seven years without a team until it unveiled its first Ms. Basketball Hawaii.

Players of the year
1988: Jennifer Kaeo, Waiakea (Junior)
1989: Jennifer Kaeo, Waiakea (Senior)
1990: Melanie Azama, ‘Iolani (Senior)
1991: Nani Cockett, Kamehameha (Sophomore)
1992: Nani Cockett, Kamehameha (Junior)
1993: Nani Cockett, Kamehameha (Senior)
1994: BJ Itoman, ‘Iolani (Junior)
1995: BJ Itoman, ‘Iolani (Senior)
1996: Tiana Fuertes, ‘Iolani (Senior)
1997: Erin Stovall, ‘Iolani (Senior)












  1. ??? March 4, 2018 4:13 pm

    Mahalo for all your all-star postings from the past..

  2. Ajoe March 5, 2018 4:05 pm

    What an amazing line up of talent. Would love to know where they now. Would be inspirational for the next generation of up and coming young talent to know tbeir history

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email