No. 7 Campbell All-State football

Defensive back Solomon Matautia, left, is the latest Saber to be judged as one of the best in the state at his position. Photo by Dennis Oda.
Defensive back Solomon Matautia is the latest Saber to be judged as one of the best in the state at his position. Photo by Dennis Oda.

For a school surrounded by the most football talent in the islands, Campbell’s best years seem to come in bunches.

And the Sabers hope they are in the middle of one of those swings. Safety Solomon Matautia was first-team All-State last year and returns to try to repeat the feat.

If he can do it, he would be just the second Campbell football player to be named to the team in successive years. The only other one was defensive lineman Jerry Leaeno, who was the Honolulu Advertiser’s defensive player of the year in 1992 and followed it up with a first-team selection by the newspaper the following year. Leaeno, a former University of Hawaii lineman, was first team for the Honolulu Star-Bulletin in 1993.

Matautia’s selection gave the Sabers two in the last three years, as linebacker Giovanni Stevenson made it in 2011. You have to go back to 2004 to find a first-teamer from Campbell prior to that, when Isaac Laupola completed a three-year run by David Veikune in 2003 and Mapa Malupo in 2002.

Campbell had a selection every year except one from 1992-1997. Coach Bernard Daos was the Sabers’ first All-State first teamer, being named coach of the year by the Honolulu Advertiser in 1976 despite not having a single first teamer.

The current coach, Amosa Amosa, was the school’s first player to be dubbed All-State first team in 1983 when the Honolulu Advertiser chose him. The offensive lineman did not make the Honolulu Star-Bulletin’s team that year, but Lene Amosa was on both papers’ teams five years later.

  • 1983: T — Amosa Amosa
  • 1988: OL — Lene Amosa
  • 1976: coach — Bernard Daos
  • 2004: S — Isaac Laupola
  • 1992, 93: DL — Jerry Leaeno
  • 2002: RB — Mapa Malupo
  • 1995: AP — Jason Martin
  • 2013: S — Solomon Matautia
  • 1997: DL — Mark Muasau
  • 1996: RB — Clifford Russell
  • 2011: LB — Giovanni Stevenson
  • 1997: LB — Robby Takara
  • 2003: DL — David Veikune
  • 1996: DB — Danilo Viloria
  • 1996: LB — Derek Zoller


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email