GAME NIGHT 10/12: Kailua/Waipahu

Waipahu 12, Kailua 6, FINAL, 2OT


10:44: TOUCHDOWN. Waipahu ends it on a 8-yard rush from Alfred Failauga. What a game.

10:40: Kailua goes for it on fourth-and-2 from the Waipahu 12, and the Surfriders get STUFFED. Waipahu’s now in the driver’s seat and can win with a score.

10:36: Kailua starts the second OT, which feels like an extension of its previous drive.


10:35: The Surfriders turn it over on downs. To double overtime we go.

10:32: Joel Auvae is PICKED OFF by Kailua, but after a personal foul penalty on the Surfriders, they’ll start at the Waipahu 35. Any score wins for Kailua.


10:28: Scratch that. After an extended meeting at midfield between coaches and referees, there will be an overtime after all. Waipahu’s ball to start the first overtime.

10:25: Regulation ends with two short runs by Kailua and no timeouts by either team. After some confusion, there will be no overtime and this one ends in a tie. 6-6 is your final.

10:21: Waipahu goes three-and-out on three straight incompletions and punts. Kailua has 51 seconds to try to win this game in regulation, starting from its own 19. Both teams have one timeout left.

10:18: The Marauders force another three-and-out and get the ball back at midfield with 1:18 left and one timeout.

10:12: Amorozo’s 37-yard attempt is blocked and the Surfriders take over from their own 22 with 2:04 left, still 6-6.

10:04: It’s Kailua’s turn to fumble, and Waipahu recovers at the Kailua 25 with 6:16 remaining.

9:57: Another Waipahu drive ends in a fumble. Kailua gets the ball back from its own 25 with 9:27 remaining in the fourth quarter.


9:50: End of the third, still tied at 6-6.

9:49: Waipahu punts and Kailua takes it to the Waipahu 37 after a nice return, 31 seconds left in the third.

9:46: The defensive struggle continues as Kailua is forced to punt after another three-and-out. Waipahu takes over from its own 37 with 2:21 left in the third.

9:42: Waipahu kicker Brycen Amorozo‘s 35-yard field goal attempt is blocked and both teams remain tied at 6-6 with 3:29 left in the third quarter.

9:38: Benjamin picks off his second pass of the day and Waipahu takes over at midfield with 6:05 left in the third.

9:35: Kailua starts from the Waipahu 45 after the Marauders punted to cap off another three-and-out.

9:32: We’re still tied at 6 after Maka Roberts misses a 25-yard field goal that had the distance but sails left. Waipahu takes over with 8:50 left in the third quarter.

9:26: We’re underway in the second half after an officiating delay to deal with a disgruntled fan. Waipahu fumbles its first offensive snap and Kailua takes over at the Waipahu 30 with 11:49 left in the third quarter.


9:00: Williams completes a pass but the clock runs out. We’re tied 6-6 at halftime. Waipahu will receive to start the second half.

8:59: Waipahu fumbles AGAIN and Kailua takes over from the Marauders’ 22 with 18 seconds left.

8:56: Kailua quarterback Kaniala Williams is picked off by Zeondre Benjamin at the Waipahu 10 with 28 seconds left in the half.

8:53: Kailua starts at the Waipahu 40 after a late hit on the kickoff return with 58 seconds left in the half.

8:50: WOW. Branson Jay Reyes takes a handoff 85 yards TO THE HOUSE, simply outrunning every defender on the left edge. The snap on the PAT is muffed and we’re tied at 6-6 with 1:06 left in the half.

8:47: It’s Waipahu’s turn to force a three-and-out. The Marauders look to score with 1:20 left in the first half, starting from their 15 with two timeouts to play with.

8:44: Kailua forces a Waipahu three-and-out. The Surfriders will take over from their own 40 with 2:50 left in the half.

8:41: Both teams can’t get much going in the rain and mud. Waipahu takes over from its own 46 with five minutes left in the first half.

8:36: Kailua takes over again after another Waipahu fumble on the Kailua 14. The muddy field has certainly been a factor for both teams.

8:26: Kailua has to punt from the shadow of its own goal line, but a nice punt puts Waipahu on the Kailua 35 with 9:55 left in the second quarter.

8:22: Waipahu is stopped short, and the Surfriders take over from their own 7.


8:20: End of the first. Waipahu faces fourth-and-6 from the Kailua 11 to start the second.

8:10: The Marauders try a double reverse but it’s fumbled. Leighton Russell picks it up for Kailua and scores a TOUCHDOWN from 10 yards out. The extra point is no good. Kailua leads 6-0 with 5:05 left in the first quarter.

8:06: The Surfriders drive all the way down to the Waipahu 7 but can’t convert on fourth-and-goal.

7:56: Kailua will start from its own 31 to start the game.


7:55: The refs decide to skip the rest of the warm up time and both teams are ready to go. Waipahu will kick off to start the game.

7:49: Players from both teams are back on the field and we’re about 15 minutes away from kickoff.

7:17 p.m.: We’re currently in a weather delay as there’s lightning in the area. The pregame clock has been set to 30 minutes and play will resume after.

For Waipahu’s roster, click here
For Kailua’s roster, click here
SERIES HISTORY: Waipahu leads the series 16-12-4 but Kailua has won the last three meetings … Waipahu hasn’t beat Kailua since 1992 and has not beat the Surfriders at Alex Kane Stadium since 1968 … The Marauders did beat Kalaheo on that field in 2010, though … Waipahu is 3-1 when having a passer throw for more than 200 yards against Kailua and is 5-0 when having a rusher gain more than 70.


Cody Marques13157-263-132,22412
Joel Auvae516-35-32321
Jovan Gooman102-2-0650
Alfred Failauga91-1-0151
Saxon Tote110-1-000
Alfred Failauga92191,16510
Deacon Kapea14582756
Jayven Reyes7592626
Cody Marques131151627
Branson Jay Reyes1241081
Manuele Pulusila625760
Tarynce Antolin32250
Fiva Tulafale54151
Matthew Fiesta14860
Joel Auvae515-201
Matthew Fiesta14477264
Saxon Tote11415482
Branson Jay Reyes13295435
Jovan Gooman10232191
Devin Espiritu571641
Solofa Setu67940
Alfred Failauga96730
Jeff Badua47601
Zeondre Benjamin63430
Fiva Tulafale51300
Jayven Reyes72220
Deacon Kapea142160
Armani Miles22100


Raynen Ho-Mook859-125-75903
Cole Weber49-24-41942
Kaniala Williams916-39-5980
Samson Rasay91264440
Brian-Allen Kamanu10662854
Kaniala Williams9331172
Lahaina Kane928653
Cole Weber413572
Myna Laurito210280
Case Oshiro65160
Koalii Kama-Toth11-30
Raynen Ho-Mook851-280
Kamryn Kahoonei7173034
Case Oshiro7151401
Kaniala Williams9111100
Solomon Farley7141100
Isaiah Hopson67830
Samson Rasay94390
Lahaina Kane96350
Kale Makaneole44310
Raynen Ho-Mook83250
John Sniffen1150
Brian-Allen Kamanu10140
Shayden Baker11-30


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email