Saint Louis wins ILH title and No. 1 seed

Saint Louis lefty Dawson Yamaguchi took a no-hitter into the sixth inning and pitched the Crusaders to their first ILH title since 2011. Photo by Darryl Oumi/Special to the Star-Advertiser.
Saint Louis lefty Dawson Yamaguchi took a no-hitter into the sixth inning and pitched the Crusaders to their first ILH title since 2011. Photo by Darryl Oumi/Special to the Star-Advertiser.

Saint Louis coach George Gusman planned to use all three of his starting pitchers in Monday’s ILH championship game against Kamehameha at Ala Wai Community Park.

He then watched left-hander Dawson Yamaguchi paint a 1-2 fastball on the inside corner to strike out Kamehameha leadoff hitter Kawai Takemura and those plans immediately went out the window.

Yamaguchi took a no-hitter into the sixth inning against Kamehameha for the second time in nine days and combined with Dylan Lum on a one-hitter in a 5-1 victory over the Warriors to give the Crusaders their first ILH championship since 2011.

“We were going to cap (Yamaguchi) at 45 (pitches) and cap Lum at 45 (pitches) and whatever was left was going to go to Chase (Meilleur),” Gusman said. “(The ball) was fluid and moving and we said all right, let’s cap it off at 60 and then we said he’s absolutely not throwing more than 85 and that’s as far as we went.”

Yamaguchi threw 80 pitches in 5 2/3 innings with no walks and four strikeouts. He allowed a one-out double to Jesse Awa in the sixth inning and gave up the only run on an RBI groundout by Takemura on his final pitch before exiting. Lum got the final four outs in order with two strikeouts to lead off the seventh.

Yamaguchi must sit out the next two games but could pitch in Saint Louis’ state tournament opener on Thursday, although with Meilleur rested, Yamaguchi, who was a freshman on the Crusaders’ 2014 state title winning team, is more likely to pitch Friday should the Crusaders advance to the semifinals.

Saint Louis received the No. 1 seed in the state tournament that begins Wednesday. Saint Louis will have a bye before taking on the winner between Maui and Mililani in Thursday’s quarterfinals. Kamehameha will open with Kalani on Wednesday night at 7 in the first round. OIA champion Kailua is the second seed, followed by MIL champ and defending state champion Baldwin as the 3 seed and BIIF champion Hilo as the four seed.

Wally Yonamine Foundation/HHSAA State Baseball Championships

Division I

Match #DateMatchupTime/ScoresSite
1Apr. 26Waiakea vs.
Waik, 4-3Les Murakami Stadium
2Apr. 26Campbell vs. KaiserCamp, 5-4Les Murakami Stadium
3Apr. 26Maui vs. MililaniMaui, 12-2 (5)Les Murakami Stadium
4Apr. 26Kalani vs. KamehamehaKSK, 3-0Les Murakami Stadium
5*Apr. 27Kaiser vs. MililaniMil, 5-3Hans L'Orange Park
6Apr. 27(4) Hilo vs. CampbellCamp, 5-4Les Murakami Stadium
7Apr. 27(2) Kailua vs. WaiakeaWaik, 3-1Les Murakami Stadium
8Apr. 27(3) Baldwin vs. KamehamehaKSK, 6-1Les Murakami Stadium
9Apr. 27(1) Saint Louis vs. MauiMaui, 8-6Les Murakami Stadium
10*Apr. 28Moanalua vs. KalaniMoan, 7-3 (6)Hans L'Orange Park
11*Apr. 28Hilo vs. Saint LouisStL, 9-2Hans L'Orange Park
12*Apr. 28Kailua vs. BaldwinKail, 7-2Hans L'Orange Park
13Apr. 28Waiakea vs. KamehamehaWaik, 2-0Les Murakami Stadium
14Apr. 28Campbell vs. MauiMaui, 6-4Les Murakami Stadium
15*Apr. 29Mililani vs. MoanaluaMil, 4-3Hans L'Orange Park
16*Apr. 29Saint Louis vs. KailuaStL, 6-2Hans L'Orange Park
17*Apr. 29Kamehameha vs. CampbellCamp, 9-2Les Murakami Stadium
18Apr. 29Waiakea vs. MauiMaui, 6-1Les Murakami Stadium
* — consolation


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email