LIVE BLOG: Officials wrestling finals

Angela Peralta of Radford had an easy time picking up her third Officials title. Cindy Ellen Russell / Star-Advertiser
Angela Peralta of Radford had an easy time picking up her third Officials title. Cindy Ellen Russell / Star-Advertiser



Here are the brackets:



The finals of the Hawaii Wrestling Officials Association tournament are set to begin at around 5 p.m. at Leilehua. Live updates will follow below.

The first boys final will be at 126 pounds and the first girls final will be at 117 pounds. The final matches of the evening will be at boys 120 featuring St. Louis’ Corey Cabanban (No. 2 P4P) vs. Kapolei’s Jayson Pagurayan (No. 7 P4P).

The final girls match will be at 112 pounds between Kamehameha’s Ashley Gooman (No. 5 P4P) and Lahainaluna’s Alexis Encinas (No. 9 P4P).

(Roosevelt wins the girls with 151 points, 2. Baldwin, 134.5; 3. Lahainaluna, 114.5. Kamehameha wins the boys competition with 134.5 points over ‘Iolani (132.5) and Campbell (123).)

Click here for videos of select matches.


126: Kainalu Estrella (Lahainaluna) def. Nicholas Stefanelli (Punahou)

Stefanelli advances to the final as the three seed after taking down No. 2 seed Souta Nardi of Baldwin. Estrella is the top seed. Stefanelli has to take an injury timeout early and is bloodied up in the third round but remains tough throughout. Estrella wins by decision, 3-1.

132: Zayren Terukina (Campbell) def. Matthew Perez (Kamehameha)

Perez lost a close 7-6 decision to Gabriel Esperanza of Baldwin but is back in and in the final against the top seed Terukina. Hard to watch both finals going on but Terukina is the winner here, 11-3.

138: Joseph Fong (Pac-Five) def. Ke’Ale Keliinoi (Waianae)

Keliinoi is the one seed and Fong is the three seed and in the final after beating No. 2 seed Caele Manley of Molokai. Keliinoi is No. 8 P4P and Fong is No. 9. Keliinoi scored an impressive takedown to start the second period but Fong came right back with one of his own. Fong gets three points at the end of the period. Fong responds well and wins 10-5.

145: Alexandre Mimura (Pac-Five) def. Zhachary Carreiro (Waianae)

Carreiro knocked off second seed Ryan Joel of Kapaa in the second round on the way to the final against the top seed, Mimura. Mimura cruises to the 15-2 win.

152: Makoa Cooper (Pearl City) def. Nicholas Mair (Kaiser)

Cooper makes it look easy as the fifth seed, winning 16-5.

160: Brandon Burgos (Aiea) def. Braden Suzuki-Scott (Kamehameha)

A nice 1-2 battle between Burgos and Suzuki-Scott. Burgos gets the win 7-2.

170: KJ Pascua (‘Iolani) def. Kasey Kikuyama (Pearl City)

Pascua gets the pin at 2:36.

182: Lincoln Mussell (Pac-Five) def. Alize Wright (Campbell)

Mussell pulls out the 6-3 decision as the No. 1 seed over Wright, the 3 seed.

195: Jayden Ferreira (Baldwin) def. Sheydan Dano (Kamehameha)

Ferreira works a pin in 3:13. Very impressive. Solid tournament for Dano.

220: Micah Tynanes-Perez (Campbell) def. Trinity Fautanu (St. Francis)

Tynanes-Perez gets the win by pin in the first round at 1:28. Backs up his No. 3 P4P ranking.

285: Dane Yamashiro (‘Iolani) def. Noah Feitosa Leite (Baldwin)

Yamashiro gets the 11-4 decision.

106: Kainoa Torigoe (‘Iolani) def. Jayse Lalim-Rillon (Molokai)

Torigoe got the pin at 5:01.

113: Kysen Terukina (Kamehameha) def. Landon Obra-Nakata (Damien)

Terukina, the No. 3 seed, wins 6-1 over the top seed.

120: Corey Cabanban (Saint Louis) def. Jayson Pagurayan (Kapolei)

Wild match. Cabanban pulls it out 5-4.


117: Macy Higa (Roosevelt) def. Jessica Sawai (Punahou)

Sawai makes the final as a six seed and faces Higa, the No. 1 seed who is ranked No. 8 pound-for-pound. Higa lives up the billing with a pin in the first period, 1:38.

122: Mikayla Abe (Pearl City) def. Czarina Pineda-Abaya (Kalani)

It’s the one seed, Abe, against the three seed, Pineda-Abaya after No. 2 seed Laynee Pasion of St. Francis was pinned at 5:56 in the second round by Lahainaluna’s Ashley Taguiam. Abe gets the 3-2 decision.

127: Teniya Alo (Kahuku) def. Anuhea Hamilton (Waianae)

This is the first final of the evening pitting the top two seeds (Hamilton 1, Alo 2). Hamilton getting checked out by the trainers. Alo wins by pinfall, 1:00.

132: Faith-Joy Okubo (Moanalua) def. Jenna Awana (Waianae)

Okubo, the second seed, faces Awana, the fourth seed. Okubo impressive in an 11-3 win.

138: Zion-Grace Vierra (Kamehameha) def. Cassandra Tongi (Kahuku)

Vierra and Tongi engage in a tough battle. Vierra can’t keep her headgear on and eventually has to go with a backup but ends up pulling out the 7-5 decision. Solid final.

145: Angela Peralta (Radford) def. Kasiane Kawai-Jose (Kapolei)

Peralta lifts Kawai-Jose in the air and holds her there before planting her in the middle of the ring and getting the pin in less than a minute (32 seconds). Dominant performance by HPW’s No. 1 pound-for-pound girls wrestler.

155: Kelani Corbett (Leilehua) def. Tara Kaili Labanon (Damien)

Corbett gets the win via pin at 5:19 in a tough battle as the top seed and our No. 7 P4P.

168: Saydie Kala (Baldwin) def. Kahula Coleman (Roosevelt)

Kala wins as the No. 2 seed by decision, 5-2.

184: Jennie Fuamatu (Pearl City) def. Alyandina Bushe (Kapolei)

Fuamatui wins via pin at 2:40.

225: Lavenia Fotu (Farrington) def. Mildred Keopuhiwa (Waianae)

The unseeded Fotu scores the pin late as Keopuhiwa, the top seed, gets caught in a bad spot and can’t fight out of it. Pin comes at 5:46.

97: Ira Navarro (Lahainaluna) def. Tianna Fernandez (Baldwin)

Navarro gets the quick pin in 15 seconds for the win.

102: Xiaolin Mai (Roosevelt) def. Madison Vierra (Baldwin)

Mai with the pin at 2:06.

107: Iverly Navarro (Lahainaluna) def. Haylee Fujioka (Roosevelt)

Both Navarro sisters wind up winning by pin in the first round. Iverly gets hers in 45 seconds.

112: Alexis Encinas (Lahainaluna) def. Ashley Gooman (Kamehameha)

Gooman goes for a single-leg early but Encinas manages to fall on top. Gooman gets back up but Encinas has control and throws her down for the score. Encinas has Gooman in trouble and comes close to ending it early. Good first period for Lahaina. Encinas with a takedown and control all throughout the second period. Encinas can’t escape in the third but it doesn’t matter. Encinas with the commanding win, 7-0.


  1. mikathedog December 17, 2016 8:55 pm

    Can you please post the final brackets for boys and girls.

  2. Jerry Campany December 17, 2016 9:48 pm

    We will post them as soon as we get them, Mika.

  3. Mark B. December 17, 2016 9:50 pm

    Great tournament!

    The new finals format went really well. The speed in which the wrestlers came up and wrestled
    kept the flow going nicely. It seems almost unfair at how Peralta from Radford is simply the strongest wrestler that I’ve seen. I don’t see anyone even coming close to challenging her.

    Too bad she’s the only varsity girls wrestler for Radford.

  4. Matside December 19, 2016 10:46 pm

    Final brackets?

  5. Jerry Campany December 20, 2016 11:47 pm

    Brackets finally added.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email