2015 OIA judo all-star teams announced

Kapolei's Jayson Pagurayan was judged the best judoka in the OIA West this year. Cindy Ellen Russell / Honolulu Star-Advertiser
Kapolei’s Jayson Pagurayan was judged the best judoka in the OIA West this year. Cindy Ellen Russell / Honolulu Star-Advertiser


Co-players of the year—Micah Tateyama, Kalani; Zorich Palimo’o, Moanalua
Coach of the year—Brandon Maki, Moanalua
First team
108—Ritchie Wong, Moanalua
114—Diamond Inouye, Moanalua
121—Wendell Ebesu, Castle
132—Micah Tateyama, Kalani
145—Daeniel Tiamzon, McKinley
161—Kulana Salera, Moanalua
178—Andrew Pascua, Moanalua
198—Zorich Palimo’o, Moanalua
220—Lerod Tongi, Kahuku
285—Ryan Souza, Moanalua
Second team
108—Christopher Lum, Roosevelt
114—Shon Aragaon, Moanalua
121—Chase Wusstig, Moanalua
132—Chevy Tabiolo Felcilda, Moanalua
145—Sean Davis, Moanalua
161—Eugene Chong, Moanalua
178—Neavan Pak, Moanalua
198—Kailer Okura, Kalani
220—Diego Delomier, Moanalua
285—James Lawhn, Kalani


Player of the year—Jayson Pagurayan, Kapolei
Coach of the year—Marc Narciso, Kapolei
First team
108—Jayson Pagurayan, Kapolei
114—Andrew Pagurayan, Kapolei
121—Anthony Brett, Kapolei
132—Kaulana Narciso, Kapolei
145—Rodman Salangdron, Kapolei
161—Paxton Horiuchi, Mililani
178—Harley Oshiro, Aiea
198—Maui Lee, Pearl City
220—Jackson Fuamatu, Pearl City
285—Matt Miner, Aiea
Second team
108—Taylor Otsuka, Mililani
114—Kainoa Lanias, Mililani
121—Aaron Nakama, Kapolei
132—Diamond Edwards, Pearl City
145—Cole Kido, Campbell
161—Kekua Marumoto, Kapolei
178—Micah Solis, Mililani
198—Matthew Keopuhiwa, Pearl City
220—Moses Bell, Kapolei
285—Jonathan Kansana, Kapolei


Co-players of the year—Zoe Tateyama, Kalani; Czarina Pineda-Abaya, Kalani
Coach of the year—Ryan Shimokawa, Roosevelt
First team
98—Menjam Tamang, Roosevelt
103—Amanda Higa, Moanalua
109—Macy Higa, Roosevelt
115—Czarina Pineda-Abaya, Kalani
122—Sienna Ho, Moanalua
129—Zoe Tateyama, Kalani
139—Risa Higa, McKinley
154—Richann Benedito, Moanalua
172—Kyrah Hughley, Moanalua
220—Arianna Harris, Moanalua
Second team
98—Jackie Agena, Moanalua
103—Xiao Lin Mai, Roosevelt
109—Ashley Lawhn, Kalani
115—Megan Mina, Roosevelt
122–Rhea Quezon, Roosevelt
129—Christine Ching, Roosevelt
139—Anuhea Amian, Roosevelt
154—Rebecca Yamashiro, Kalani
172—Lydia Kim, Roosevelt


Player of the year—Kari Okubo, Aiea
Coach of the year—Dustin Iwabachi, Aiea
First team
98—Adrienne Nazareno, Pearl City
103—Louise Pekelo, Pearl City
109—Mikayla Abe, Pearl City
115—Kaylin Castro, Mililani
122—Haylie Shinsato, Mililani
129—Sarah Murallos, Leilehua
139—Kayelah Arakaki, Pearl City
154—Kari Okubo, Aiea
172—Mana Borden, Pearl City
220—Sarah Miner, Aiea
Second team
98—Meagan Funasaki, Mililani
103—Briana Leong, Leilehua
109—Anne Platt, Campbell
115—Joen Tominaga, Pearl City
122—Shana Inouye, Pearl City
129—Grace Boa, Pearl City
139—Gezlen Ragudos, Aiea
154—Tiana Peterson, Kapolei
172—Kayla Mae Cuizon, Campbell
220—Michelle Tanuvasa, Pearl City


  1. Big Z May 15, 2015 8:26 am

    How were these teams selected? Seems wrong that a couple of 2015 state champions are on the 2nd team and another is not on either the 1st or 2nd team. Either way, congratulations to all judoka for a season well played.

  2. Jakefromstatefarm May 15, 2015 11:36 am

    Awesome how they announced Judo, golf, and baseball all stars so quickly while we are still waiting for the wrestling all stars

  3. talloola May 15, 2015 12:12 pm

    Just look at the Divisional results. The All-Stars are based solely on how they finished at the divisional tournament. Judo Example: Western 1st team 161 Horiuchi even though Marumoto won OIA’s and States(2x).

    So if you check the east/west divisional results the champs are 1st teamers and the runner up is the 2nd team.
    East results: http://www.hawaiiprepworld.com/wrestling/oia-east-wrestling-results/
    West results: http://www.hawaiiprepworld.com/featured/oia-west-wrestling-championships/

  4. Jakefromstatefarm May 15, 2015 12:38 pm

    How do they choose the player of the year for each division? Who was wrestlings player of the year?

  5. Rhonda May 15, 2015 11:00 pm

    They picked the Judo all stars quickly so that we can all forget about Judo already. Judo needs to be removed from Hawaii High School sports. Grappling / JiuL jitsu instead.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.