Boys 285

2020 State Championships

Punahou’s Legend Matautia, who won the state title last year at 220, will attempt to win another championship at heavyweight. Photo by Bruce Asato/Star-Advertiser.

TOP SEED: Legend Matautia, Punahou
2019 state champion (220), 2018 state third (220)
2020 ILH champ (285), 2019 ILH champ (220), 2018 ILH champ (220)



(1) Legend Matautia, Punahou vs. (2) Rafael Leapaga, Kapolei
— Matautia, Dec 3-2

Notes: Matautia won 5-4 at Officials …. Nothing in the first period … Matautia manages a late escape in the second round and leads 2-0 … Leapaga explodes out of the gate in the third round with two points to tie it … Matautia escapes with 53 seconds to go to go up 3-2 … Leapaga tries to shoot but Matautia stuffs it. He holds on to win 3-2 and earn his second state title after winning at 220 last year.


Marcus Lombard, Kahuku vs. Gregory Rucilez, Kalani
— Lombard, fall 2:14


Jace Filipo Rodrigues, Waianae vs. Jonah Kahuli-Apo, Kamehameha
— Rodrigues, 2 OT, 2-1



(1) Legend Matautia, Punahou vs. Jace Filipo Rodrigues, Waianae
— Matautia, fall :07
(2) Rafael Leapaga, Kapolei vs. Jonah Kahuli-Apo, Kamehameha
— Leapaga, fall :37


(1) Legend Matautia, Punahou vs. Jeremiah Gabrillo, Radford
— Matautia, fall 1:30
Jace Filipo Rodrigues, Waianae vs. Gregory Rucilez, Kalani
— Rodrigues, Dec 6-1
(3) Nephi Laga, Baldwin vs. Jonah Kahuli-Apo, Kamehameha
— Kahuli-Apo, fall 1:22
(2) Rafael Leapaga, Kapolei vs. Anthony Sagapolutele, Saint Louis
— Leapaga, fall 1:49


(1) Legend Matautia, Punahou vs. Kyle Evens, Pahoa
— Matautia
Jeremiah Gabrillo, Radford vs. Justin Keliikupakako, KS-Maui
— Gabrillo
Marcus Lombard, Kahuku vs. Jace Filipo Rodrigues, Waianae
— Rodrigues
(4) Sione Holani, Hilo vs. Gregory Rucilez, Kalani
— Rucilez
(3) Nephi Laga, Baldwin vs. Vitale Afoa, Leilehua
— Laga
Kekai Polsoda, Kealakehe vs. Jonah Kahuli-Apo, Kamehameha
— Kahuli-Apo
Brayden Bailey, Konawaena vs. Anthony Sagapolutele, Saint Louis
— Sagapolutele
(2) Rafael Leapaga, Kapolei vs. Kekoa Kaulukukui, Kailua
— Leapaga


Kyle Evens, Pahoa vs. Justin Keliikupakako, KS-Maui

(4) Sione Holani, Hilo vs. Marcus Lombard, Kahuku

Vitale Afoa, Leilehua vs. Kekai Polsoda, Kealakehe

Brayden Bailey, Konawaena vs. Kekoa Kaulukukui, Kailua


Kyle Evens, Pahoa vs. Isaac Mamizuka, Kaiser
— Evens, fall 2:59
Lopaka Feesago, Pearl City vs. Gregory Rucilez, Kalani
— Rucilez, Dec 3-2
Zion Samuels, Nanakuli vs. Vitale Afoa, Leilehua
— Afoa, fall 2:52
Kekoa Kaulukukui, Kailua vs. Justice Smith, Moanalua
— Kaulukukui, Dec 7-2