Boys 152

2020 State Championships

Kamehameha’s Kanai Tapia, a two-time ILH champion, had one of the biggest wins of any wrestler this season when he beat Kapolei’s Branden Pagurayan in the 152-pound final at Officials. Photo by Steven Erler/Special to the Star-Advertiser.

TOP SEED: Kanai Tapia, Kamehameha
2019 state third (138)
2020 ILH champion (152), 2019 ILH champion (138)



(1) Kanai Tapia, Kamehameha vs. (2) Branden Pagurayan, Kapolei
— Tapia, Dec 3-2

Notes: Pagurayan is No. 2 pound-for-pound while Tapia is No. 4. … Scoreless after one. Pagurayan gets the escape in the second. 1-0. Could he possibly keep Tapia down for two minutes? Nope. He made it 55 seconds. 1-1 with a minute to go. Tapia shoots in for a double leg and puts Pagurayan down hard. Thunderous takedown to take the lead. Pagurayan flips out for an escape and the whistle sounds with one seconds left. It’s over. Tapia wins 3-2.

Kamehameha’s Kanai Tapia had to earn a 3-2 win over Branden Pagurayan of Kapolei to win the 152-pound state title. Photo by Jamm Aquino/Star-Advertiser.


Malcolm Bell, Campbell vs. Stone Franczyk, Hanalani
— Franczyk, Dec 7-1


(4) Nainoa Flores, Baldwin vs. Noah Takeyama, Punahou
— Takeyama, Maj 16-7


(1) Kanai Tapia, Kamehameha vs. Malcolm Bell, Campbell
— Tapia, fall 3:34
(2) Branden Pagurayan, Kapolei vs. Stone Franczyk, Hanalani
— Pagurayan, fall 1:31


(1) Kanai Tapia, Kamehameha vs. Boltyn Taam, Moanalua
— Tapia, OT 6-4
(4) Nainoa Flores, Baldwin vs. Malcolm Bell, Campbell
— Bell, fall 1:16
(3) Isaac Vickery, Waiakea vs. Stone Franczyk, Hanalani
— Franczyk, fall 3:33
(2) Branden Pagurayan, Kapolei vs. Noah Takeyama, Punahou
— Pagurayan, TF 20-5


(1) Kanai Tapia, Kamehameha vs. Mieszko Stachowski, Mililani
— Tapia
Isaiah Villanueva, KS-Hawaii vs. Boltyn Taam, Moanalua
— Taam
Walter Turpin, Kauai vs. Malcolm Bell, Campbell
— Bell
(4) Nainoa Flores, Baldwin vs. Isaac Peterson, Damien
— Flores
(3) Isaac Vickery, Waiakea vs. Elijah Pinales, Leilehua
— Vickery
Heno Kaiama, Molokai vs. Stone Franczyk, Hanalani
— Franczyk
Cyrus Freitas, Lahainaluna vs. Noah Takeyama, Punahou
— Takeyama
(2) Branden Pagurayan, Kapolei vs. Ezekiel Lee, Pearl City
— Pagurayan


Mieszko Stachowski, Mililani vs. Isaiah Villanueva, KS-Hawaii

Walter Turpin, Kauai vs. Isaac Peterson, Damien

Elijah Pinales, Leilehua vs. Heno Kaiama, Molokai

Cyrus Freitas, Lahainaluna vs. Ezekiel Lee, Pearl City


Kekoa Archuleta, Aiea vs. Mieszko Stachowski, Mililani
— Stachowski, Dec 7-4
Maxwell Ostrowski, Kealakehe vs. Isaac Peterson, Damien
— Peterson, Dec 8-6
Ryno Kahalewai, Nanakuli vs. Elijah Pinales, Leilehua
— Pinales, Maj 10-0
Ezekiel Lee, Pearl City vs. Joe Sadder, Hawaii Prep
— Lee, fall 2:41