Boys 132

2020 State Championships

Four-time ILH champion Kysen Terukina of Kamehameha, top, is looking to finish off the state slam as the No. 1 seed at 132 pounds. Photo by Cindy Ellen Russell/Star-Advertiser.

TOP SEED: Kysen Terukina, Kamehameha
2019 state champion (126), 2018 state champion (120), 2017 state champion (113)
2020 ILH champion (132), 2019 ILH champion (126), 2018 ILH champion (120), 2017 ILH champion (113)



(1) Kysen Terukina, Kamehameha vs. Elijah Kaawa, Saint Louis
— Terukina, Dec 3-1

Notes: Terukina, No. 1 pound-for-pound, looks to go out with a fourth state title. He has beaten Kaawa 5-0 and 5-3 this year. Two opponents very familiar with each other … Terukina sneaks in a takedown just before the end of the first period to go up 2-0. Lightning fast … Kaawa is hurt on the move that ended the round and is being tended to by trainers. Kaawa will continue … Kaawa with the escape at 50 seconds of the second period to make it 2-1 … To the third we go … Quick escape by Terukina makes it 3-1 … Terukina keeps it that way to complete the slam. Four state titles in four different weight classes.


(2) Caleb Shimaoka, Waiakea vs. (3) Kade Okura, Kalani
— Okura, 2 OT, 2-1


(4) Dawson Nolasco, Lahainaluna vs. Iz Gonzalez, Roosevelt
— Nolasco, Dec 5-1



(1) Kysen Terukina, Kamehameha vs. (4) Dawson Nolasco, Lahainaluna
— Terukina, Maj 14-3
(2) Caleb Shimaoka, Waiakea vs. Elijah Kaawa, Saint Louis
— Kaawa, Dec 4-2


(1) Kysen Terukina, Kamehameha vs. Iz Gonzalez, Roosevelt
— Terukina, Dec 12-5
(4) Dawson Nolasco, Lahainaluna vs. Mason Chung, Mililani
— Nolasco, Maj 12-2
(3) Kade Okura, Kalani vs. Elijah Kaawa, Saint Louis
— Kaawa, Dec 4-3
(2) Caleb Shimaoka, Waiakea vs. Josiah Lum, Hawaii Baptist
— Shimaoka, Dec 10-4


(1) Kysen Terukina, Kamehameha vs. Alec Fong, Moanalua
— Terukina
Carmello Castillo, Hilo vs. Iz Gonzalez, Roosevelt
— Gonzalez
Herman Santos, Kapaa vs. Mason Chung, Mililani
— Chung
(4) Dawson Nolasco, Lahainaluna vs. Kamaehu Akina, KS-Hawaii
— Nolasco
(3) Kade Okura, Kalani vs. Carlos Lopez, Keaau
— Okura
Jared Sugiyama, Lanai vs. Elijah Kaawa, Saint Louis
— Kaawa
Aaron Sumabat, Baldwin vs. Josiah Lum, Hawaii Baptist
— Lum
(2) Caleb Shimaoka, Waiakea vs. Anthony Lopez, Campbell
— Shimaoka


Alec Fong, Moanalua vs. Carmello Castillo, Hilo

Herman Santos, Kapaa vs. Kamaehu Akina, KS-Hawaii

Carlos Lopez, Keaau vs. Jared Sugiyama, Lanai

Aaron Sumabat, Baldwin vs. Anthony Lopez, Campbell


Danny Boy Tauyan, Leilehua vs. Alec Fong, Moanalua
— Fong, fall 3:58
Kamaehu Akina, KS-Hawaii vs. Micah Tabar, Punahou
— Akina, Dec 4-2
Zackree Inis, Waipahu vs. Carlos Lopez, Keaau
— Lopez, Dec 4-3
Anthony Lopez, Campbell vs. Chase Franczyk, Pearl City
— Lopez, Dec 4-2