HHSAA state champions: Boys 1,600 relay

Punahou's K.T. Tuumalo anchored three straight relay wins. Photo by Dennis Oda.
Punahou’s K.T. Tuumalo anchored three straight relay wins. Photo by Dennis Oda.

The Star-Advertiser has tried to compile lists of each event winner in the history of the HHSAA track and field championships. Inevitably, some information is incomplete, especially concerning individuals on relay teams. If you have any corrections, please comment at the bottom of this post and I will get to them as soon as I can. Without Doug Kilpatrick there would be few names in here, spread the word and help us fill out this imformation.

These are only performances in the final day of the state track and field championships each year, records can be broken in trials, but those are not reflected anywhere except for in the state meet record book. The lines at the top of these lists are those records, FAT is computer time, H is hand-held and WA denotes wind-aided.

2017Konawaena3:23.21Josiah VallezKalai SantiagoHauoli AkauReyson Ching
2016Radford3:27.49Solomon LogginsJonathan Faulkner-SmithMatteo DumasThomas Reid
2015Radford3:22.68Derick GrahamJamaal TribuneIzaiah LavataiThomas Reid
2014Punahou3:22.35Karl ReisJustin MatiasAlec DinsmoreKanawai Noa
2013Punahou3:22.21Justin MatiasDarreon SchwartzAlec DinsmoreDevon Terayama
2012Punahou3:23.28Alec DinsmoreDarreon SchwartzJason SasanDevon Terayama
2011Punahou3:25.93Alec GeilfusTim KamanaMike ZaneKT Tuumalo
2010Punahou3:24.53Kawika PedrinaTim KamanaBrian SuiteKT Tuumalo
2009Punahou3:24.34Jeff PedrinaMichael ZaneMatt SchullKT Tuumalo
2008Radford3:22.46Donniqtay CampbellIkaika KamakaJonathan AtanganChristopher Rainey
2007Punahou3:23.62Ben StrandCarlos LiquidoToby ReeuwijkZach Coronas
2006Kamehameha3:25.24Parish BritoJesse MonizNoah WongKinohi Warrington
2005Kahuku3:25.76Suaesi TuimauneiTomasi FullerSpencer HafokaRedmond Tutor
2004Kamehameha3:29.49Teal CrossJoshua GuthTravis BeyerNick Frazier
2003Kamehameha3:24.67Teal CrossTravis BeyerNick FrazierSam Wescoatt
2002Roosevelt3:24.38Jonathan NakasoneBrian KeomakaJerry PerreiraShown Francis
2001Punahou3:27.18Toa HackneyTroy NakamatsuJohn YamaneMichael Fujioka
2000Kamehameha3:24.86Michael CastellanoLandon CastellanoTravis Ah KingNainoa Spencer
1999Punahou3:22.83Jeff MunnsRyan SeeneyMichael SemenzaMatt Chun
1998Punahou3:24.25Jesse LamBrady JencksRyan FeeneyBennett Valencia
1997Punahou3:24.70names not listed in the newspaper results
1996Punahou3:24.8Braydon YoderTione HackneyBennett ValenciaJon Van Horn
1995Maui3:26.2Ryan AgenaAmery BernardSese VaveKyle Kikuchi
1994Punahou3:24.1Jay MeindertsmaSteffan YountCraig ItoRyan Conway
1993Punahou3:28.6Matthew TaufaasauCraig ItoSteffan YountRyan Conway
1992Punahou3:24.5Matthew TaufaasauBill EarnerMarcus HannahAaron Culliney
1991Lutheran3:26.5Jumanne WashingtonBilly ThompsonRody EdgarRyan Hironaka
1990Radford3:25.7Brendan ParkerPhil CunninghamLee MillerJames Schmidt
1989Punahou3:25.5Ryan GilbertKelii MorgadoAndy SchadBrett Arizumi
1988Radford3:24.2W. RiversFrank MoultrieCharles AlexanderKoby Fulks
1987Maui3:26.9Rey LobustaJ. ComeauR. MitraKeone DeRego
1986St. Louis3:27.9Mike CoxMatt MeyerDean LeeDavid Cooper
1985Radford3:20.2Eugene WilliamsJohn CurryMark BrackenhoffPeter Lee
1984Radford3:24.2John CurryEugene WilliamsAndre ThomasJerry Bunch
1983Radford3:24.1Brian NorwoodEugene WilliamsAndre ThomasRon Jackson
Mile Relay
1982Radford3:23.5Greg PaceBruce CombsMike WilliamsJoey Bunch
1981Punahou3:25.3Mark HashimotoMike PerryKeith CockettHamana Ventura
1980Kalaheo3:28.1Event not listed in newspaper summary
1979Punahou3:37.7BartlettHardyMarshall MarumotoRobert Howe
1978Kailua3:25.1Zachary HimanMark ChangArthur RegottazClark Edwards
1977Mililani3:30.2names not listed in the newspaper results
1976Leilehua3:28.4William TaylorRod WilliamsMike CaryLarry Bradley
1975Punahou3:27.4E II LongDavid TurnerLouis JohnsonNathan Cockett
1974Punahou3:26.9Louis JohnsonTodd WilliamsMark JacobsonRobert Chinn
1973Punahou3:25.6Nathan CockettMark JacobsonRobert ChinnDacre Bowen
1972Kailua3:27.0Roland ReevesTony O'RourkeBobby SouzaLee Hart
1971Kaimuki3:27.2Peter NeizmanWendell InouyeWayne ElenekeWillard Gouveia
1970Punahou3:25.3Kirt PruynMax SwordJohn FieldTom Abbott
1969Punahou3:27.9Max SwordTony AllmondLeighton MauTom Abbott
1968Punahou3:24.4Tom AbbottGungi DeMelloMark HutsonMark Cummings
1967Kamehameha3:27.5Blaise Lee LoyScott LincolnMaxwell YasukawaBob Hassenritter
1966Iolani3:25.5Dan MayedaKirk StrawGreg HayashiDoug Nagy
1965Punahou3:28.8Dave SpanglerJohn GrothEric BenhamSteve Shoup
1964Kalani3:27.6Morris SakudaThurston HillerBrian YeeArnold Galacia
1962Punahou3:29.2Jeff HuntGeoff AveryLarry LinnBill Westlake
1961Roosevelt3:27.0Faxon HanunaErnest SoukiPeter YasutakeGeorge Butterfield


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.