State girls soccer championship game scorers

girls soccerupdated

Clink the link above for goal scorers in each division I championship game in girls soccer. Some highlights:

>> 23 of the 31 title games have been shutouts, including 10 in a row from 1992-2001.
>> The championship has gone to penalty kicks four times, the last being Punahou’s win over Mililani in 2010.
>> A losing team has scored more than one goal only once, in 1988 when Kari Morioka scored twice for ‘Iolani in a loss to Mililani.
>> Millie Dydasco of Castle hold the record with four goals against Mililani in the first championship, in 1982. She remains the only girl to have a hat trick in the title match.
>> Punahou’s Starr Dawson scored in three successive state finals, in 1984, 1985 and 1986. Add her winning penalty kick in the shootout phase in 1983 and she scored in four straight. Her goal in 1984 was a winner in the fourth overtime.
>> Players who have scored in successive state finals: Meleana Shim, 2006-2007 Kamehameha; Kris Ann Kanemoto, 1990-1991 Pearl City; Starr Dawson, 1984-1986 Punahou.

State championship records
Punahou, 11-4
Kamehameha, 7-3
Pearl City, 4-2
Iolani, 3-5
Mililani, 3-9
Baldwin, 2-1
Castle, 1-2
Kapolei, 0-1
Moanalua, 0-1
Kapaa, 0-1
Kaiser, 0-1
Maui, 0-1





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email