Pearl City’s Eli, Lee, Kanamu: athletes of year

Pearl City's Dominic Maneafaiga is Pearl City's football MVP for the 2014 season. Jamm Aquino / Star-Advertiser
Pearl City’s Dominic Maneafaiga is Pearl City’s football MVP for the 2014 season. Jamm Aquino / Star-Advertiser

Pearl City picked wrestler and judoka Maui Lee and Garette Kanamu as its male athletes of the year and cross country and track athlete Kailee Eli as its female athlete of the year, Chargers athletic director Reid Shigemasa announced this week.

The school’s athletic award winners are listed below.

Male Athlete of the Year
>> Garette Kanamu
>> Maui Lee

Female Athlete of the Year
>> Kailee Eli

Male Scholar Athlete of the Year
>> Travis Ibera

Femaile Scholar Athlete of the Year
>> Kayla Ueshiro

Charger Pride Award
>> Mariah Tinay

Most Valuable Player
>> Boys bowling: Keenan Kihara, Aaron Rafael
>> Girls bowling: Chesli Morishige
>> Boys cross country: Chase Arguellas
>> Girls cross country: Jeanalyn Wadsack-Myers
>> Football: Dominic Maneafaiga
>> Boys soft tennis: Kellen Higa, Timothy Takahashi
>> Girls soft tennis: Leina Mizusawa, Elyssa Shirai
>> Girls volleyball: Maycee Kealoha
>> Girls volleyball (blue): Jana Kudo
>> Boys basketball: Tylor Canon
>> Girls soccer: Nikki Suwa, Jordan Gomes
>> Boys wrestling: Jackson Fuamatu
>> Girls wrestling: Alexis Ford
>> Baseball: Matthew Tsutomi, Tyler Kushima
>> Boys judo: Jackson Fuamatu
>> Girls judo: Kayelah Arakaki, Joen Tominaga, Louise Pekelo
>> Softball: Natalie Kang
>> Boys volleyball: Tylor Canon

Most outstanding
>> Air riflery: Danielle Tanabe
>> Girls bowling: Ashlynn Castro
>> Girls cross country: Kailee Eli
>> Boys basketball: Garette Kanamu
>> Boys paddling: Persian Asuncion
>> Girls swimming: Jady Ojiri
>> Boys wrestling: Maui Lee
>> Girls wrestling: Asia Evans
>> Girls golf: Kacy Muranaka
>> Boys track: Brent Watanabe
>> Girls track: Kailee Eli
>> Boys volleyball: Garette Kanamu
>> Girls water polo: Chiema Trias, Karlee Kawasaki

Most inspirational
>> Boys air riflery: Eric Schlitzkus
>> Girls air riflery: Jennifer Loui
>> Cheerleading: Tristyn Toribio
>> Boys cross country: Devin Ajimine
>> Football: Jackson Fuamatu, Petro Mataia
>> Girls volleyball: Lexxi Enos
>> Girls volleyall (blue): Mariah Yocum
>> Girls basketball: Louise Pekelo
>> Boys wrestling: Trevor Alvarado
>> Girls wrestling: Mikayla Abe
>> Boys golf: Marcus Yamamoto
>> Girls golf: Alyssa Omonaka
>> Boys judo: Maui Lee
>> Boys tennis: Alec Gatiuan
>> Girls tennis: Leina Mizusawa
>> Boys volleyball: Petro Mataia

Most improved
>> Cheerleading: Brayden Oandason
>> Football: Jackson Fuamatu
>> Girls basketball: Brandee Huihui
>> Girls paddling: Brianne Higa
>> Boys paddling: Kaniala Kaohe
>> Boys swimming: Kyle McKinney
>> Girls swimming: Michele Fujita
>> Bys wrestling: Jasper Cantorna
>> Girls wrestling: Netanya Kang
>> Boys golf: Christopher Asis, Makoa Chinen
>> Boys tennis: Dylan Woo
>> Girls tennis: Arlene Colis, Nicole Tateishi
>> Boys track: Travis Ibera
>> Girls track: Jeanalyn Wadsack-Myers
>> Girls water polo: Maya Mendez

Offensive player of the year
>> Football: Jordan Taamu
>> Boys soccer: Jay Sato

Defensive player of the year
>> Football: P-Jay Solomon
>> Boys soccer: Matthew Cabacungan


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email