Mililani’s Wilson, Shinsato are athletes of year

Sean Sonognini is the Mililani baseball team's most outstanding player for 2015.
Sean Sonognini is the Mililani baseball team’s most outstanding player for 2015.

Mililani’s Kainoa Wilson and Haylie Shinsato are Mililani’s male and female athletes of the year, Trojans athletic director Glenn Nitta announced Friday.

Wilson was a wide receiver in football and an outfielder in baseball. Shinsato was a Trojans judoka as well as a member of the state championship girls soccer team.

A list of Mililani’s athletic award winners follow.

Male Athlete of the Year
>> Kainoa Wilson

Female Athlete of the Year
>> Haylie Shinsato

Male Scholar Athlete
>> Anthony Menor

Female Scholar Athlete
>> Haylie Shinsato

George Yamamoto Award
>> Brett D’Amato

>> Oceanic: Rex Manu, Kanoe Morihara
>> John Kauinana: Kainoa Wilson, Kristen Miguel

Most Valuable Player
>> Varsity football: Rex Manu
>> Junior varsity football: Treyton Kong

Varsity most outstanding
>> Baseball: Sean Sonognini
>> Boys basketball: Braiden Rosario
>> Girls basketball: Summer Bolibol
>> Boys bowling: Dylan Tetsutani
>> Girls bowling: Karli Shidaki
>> Boys cross country: Jakob DeWald
>> Girls cross country: Vanessa Roybal
>> Football offense: Jordan Agasiva, Derrick Fetui-Suapaia
>> Football defense: Pekelo Lee, Ty Apana-Purcell
>> Boys judo: Brent Ikei
>> Girls judo: Haylie Shinsato
>> Boys golf: Andrew Hipolito
>> Girls golf: Mari Nishiura
>> Boys paddling: Isaiah Longboy
>> Girls paddling: Kylie Yamamoto
>> Girls soccer: Kayla Braunthal, Kanoe Morihara
>> Boys soccer: Jeron Cunningham
>> Girls swimming: Emily Travis
>> Boys swimming: Jericho Piansay
>> Softball: Aubree Kim, Kylie-Ann Bello
>> Girls tennis: Alysse Nakasato, Haley Fujimoro
>> Boys tennis: Jace Akagi-Okuma
>> Boys track: Aukahi Nolan, Jorde Manuel
>> Girls track: Vanessa Roybal
>> Boys wrestling: Taylor Otsuka
>> Girls wrestling: Jordyn Watanabe
>> Girls water polo: Martiza Segovia
>> Cheerleading: Kristen Burgett, Jalene Alviar
>> Boys volleyball: Micah Talamoa
>> Girls volleyball: Kristen Miguel
>> Girls volleyball (white): Blythe Ballesteros

Junior varsity most outstanding
>> Baseball: Shane Griffin
>> Boys basketball: Andrew Valladares
>> Girls basketball: Caysie Tomas
>> Boys cross country: Timothy Schiller
>> Girls cross country: Katie Hashimoto
>> Football (offense): Noah Williams
>> Football (defense): Dustin Gapusan
>> Boys paddling: Ama Kikila-Debibar
>> Girls paddling: Taylor Olson
>> Girls soccer: Jodi Lillie
>> Softball: Taylor Schemerbacuch, Misha Carrier
>> Girls tennis: Taryn Fujimori
>> Boys track: DeShaun Stevens
>> Girls track: Ayana DeMoss
>> Girls wrestling: Isabel Masiglat
>> Boys wrestling: Sean Dagan
>> Cheerleading: Jasmine Olmos, Jazmin Harada
>> Boys volleyball: Brandon Rabang
>> Girls volleyball: Rylynn Benavente

Gary T. Oda Memorial One Team Award
>> Judo: Haylie Shinsato

Kulia I Ka Nu‘u Scholarship
>> Mari Domingo


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email