Hawaii honors four officials with HOF bid

The Hawaii Sports Officials Hall of Fame will get four more members, but they will have to wait until Sept. 5, 2021 to be inducted.

The organization, which was established in 2017, intends on inducting eight legends next year after postponing its induction ceremony.

When the next four are announced next year, there will be 23 officials in the Hall of Fame.

The first round of inductees have more than 100 years of combined experience in four different sports. The inductees are:

Jan Allen, soccer
Allen has been an official for 46 years and served as president of the Hawaii Scholastic Soccer Federation Referees Association.

Sam Delos Reyes, basketball
Delos Reyes, a legendary football coach, officiated for 33 years and worked nine state championship games. He ran the Hawaii State Basketball Officials Association for 15 years.

Wayne Lee, volleyball
Lee has been officiating for nearly 30 years and is the HHSAA volleyball officials coordinator and helped set standards for potential officials to achieve before working college matches.

Matt Sumstine, football
Sumstine was Hawaii’s firs official to work on an NFL replay crew and is the HHSAA’s coordinator of football officials and runs clinics all over the state.


  1. coconut wireless June 4, 2020 1:40 pm

    hope he was a better official then he was as an AD, poor Amosa!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.