Graham and Furuta win OIA scoring titles

 Mililani's Tia Furuta kicks the ball away from Aiea's Jordan Hill. Jamm Aquino / Star-Advertiser
Mililani’s Tia Furuta kicks the ball away from Aiea’s Jordan Hill. Jamm Aquino / Star-Advertiser

Kailua’s Naia Graham and Mililani’s Tia Furuta captured the OIA boys and girls soccer scoring titles.

Graham scored 20 goals, two more than Kapolei’s Shandon Hopeau, who had 18.

Four OIA boys players were tied for third place with 15 goals each — Kalaheo’s Jhonah Felipe, Kalani’s Takahiro Kosins, Moanalua’s Tyler Morton and Waianae’s Stanton Spencer.

Graham holds the state football record for longest field goal — 57 yards in a game two seasons ago for the Surfriders.

Furuta scored 17 goals for the Trojans.

Kalani’s Tori Chinen and Kahuku’s Kamaile Aluli finished in second place on the girls scoring list with 16 each, followed by Kaiser’s Kai Hasegawa with 15 and Aiea’s Sara Olanda with 14.

In the ILH, where the regular season is still nearing the finish, ‘Iolani’s Kristen Hori (12) is the girls scoring leader, followed by Punahou’s Kaile Halvorsen and Shay Nakahira (11 each).

Kamehameha’s Keola Norton and Pac-Five’s Zachary Trevorrow are tied for the boys lead with seven apiece, with Mid-Pacific’s Tyler Allen (6) right behind.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email