Boys wrestling: Pound for pound rankings

Liam Corbett of Leilehua beat Waianae's Jacob Naosusuga of Waianae on Saturday. Corbett is No. 2 in the Star-Advertiser's pound-for-pound rankings. Dennis Oda / Star-Advertiser.
Liam Corbett of Leilehua beat Waianae’s Jacob Naosusuga of Waianae on Saturday. Corbett is No. 2 in the Star-Advertiser’s pound-for-pound rankings. Dennis Oda / Star-Advertiser.

There are a lot of state championships out there for the taking this year.

Preseason No. 1 Zack Diamond of Mililani.
Preseason No. 1 Zack Diamond of Mililani.

With Josh Terao, Brayden Akeo and Blake Cooper off to bigger and better things, the Star-Advertiser’s preseason top 10 pound-for-pound list is lacking talent that has climbed to the highest peak of Hawaii high school wrestling.

Zack Diamond and Liam Corbett take the top two spots based on their exceptional performances while representing Hawaii on the continent and the highest state champ is fourth behind two-time state runner up Christian Balagso.

Kaiser’s Chance Ikei wears that crown, followed by Campbell’s Tristan Ludiazo and Cameron Kato of Punahou. Boman Tokioka is the only other state champion ranked in the top 10.

Assuming those four kings wrestle in different weight classes this year, that leaves 10 state titles to boys who have never stood on the top of the podium at the big show.

Here is the pound-for-pound, last year’s varsity weight classes in parentheses with league and state championships to follow:

1. Zack Diamond, Mililani (132)
OIA champ, second at state twice

2. Liam Corbett, Leilehua (145)
OIA champ, second at state 2014, state placer 2013

3. Christian Balagso, Lahainaluna (120)
MIL champ x2, second at state twice

4. Chance Ikei, Kaiser (113)
State champ, state placer

5. Tristan Ludiazo, Campbell (220)
State champ, third at state 2013

6. Cameron Kato, Punahou (106)
State champ, ILH champ

7. Blaysen Terukina, Kamehameha (113)
ILH champ x2, third at state twice

8. Boman Tokioka, Kamehameha (195)
State champ 2014

9. Josh Crimmins, Punahou (132)
Third at state 2014, second at state 2013

10. Isaac Diamond, Mililani (126)
Second at state 2012, OIA champ 2012

Honorable mention: Brian Pascua, Iolani (138); Connor Mowat, Lahainaluna (285); Shandon Ilabon, Kapolei (113); Zach Wigzell, Lahainaluna (113); Thomas Stevenson, Baldwin (138); Connor Barfield, Punahou (145); Cody Cabanban, Saint Louis (106).


  1. Fanatic December 11, 2014 8:43 am

    Bryan Pascua seems snubbed a little bit since he pinned Crimmins and beat Stevenson.

  2. Hawaii rep December 20, 2014 1:08 am

    Wait didnt Jachobe hunter from radford beat Zack diamond at a folk style pre season tournament that was hosted at campbell

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email