APRIL 30, 1983: Les Uyehara unleashes Iolani to win state title

Iolani's Derek Oyama, Cary Nagano and Dean Yonamine all were rewarded as all-ILH first teamers in 1983. Mike Fetters also made the list.

On this day in 1983, Iolani went against what had worked all year to win the state baseball title.

The Raiders had been known as a small-ball team until the state final against Castle, when coach Les Uyehara took the reigns off.

Iolani didn’t bunt a single time and banged out 10 hits against stellar Knights starter Ross Sakamoto. Sakamoto was unbeaten in his state career and had thrown 109 pitches in a semifinal win over Aiea the day before. He threw 130 pitches against Iolani, giving him 239 in two days.

A year later Sakamoto was pitching for California in the Pac-10.

Dean Yonamine nursed Cary Nagano through his first career complete game and had two extra-base hits with the bat. Derrick Oyama added a triple and a home run at Aloha Stadium.


  1. Marissa April 30, 2020 8:11 pm

    Omg that’s my father lol

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.