APRIL 29, 2010: Saint Louis ends ILH baseball drought

Moses Samia hit a three run home-run as Saint Louis won the ILH in 2010. FL Morris / Star-Bulletin

On this day in 2010, Saint Louis finally broke through and won the ILH after a 20-year wait.

Catcher Moses Samia hit a three-run home run and Chris Chung threw five scoreless innings and the Crusaders beat Mid-Pacific 6-2 at Damon Field.

Saint Louis finished the season 16-1 and earned the ILH seeded berth at the state tournament. Mid-Pacific (12-4) and Punahou (11-5) got the league’s other tickets to the big show.

Chung and Saint Louis beat Kailua in the second round but lost to Baldwin 5-2 in the semis. The Buffanblu overcame Baldwin 13-2 to win their seventh-straight state title. Punahou won 25 state games in a row during the span and didn’t lose again until 2012. Samia went 4-for-6 in the state tournament but didn’t make the all-tournament team.

Saint Louis won the ILH again the next year while Punahou failed to make the tournament to end its streak.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.