1985 Hall of Honor

The latest class of the Hall of Honor will be announced on May 25, we will randomly look back at past classes since the program began in 1982. Today we look at the 1985 class, along with a column by Bill Kwon.

Todd Apo, Kamehameha: Football, basketball, baseball
Bern Brostek, Iolani: Football, Track, wrestling
Tracie Huddy, Campbell: Basketball, track, volleyball, softball
Mike Kuenzli, Kamehameha: Football wrestling
Anthony Lazaro Jr., Waimea: Football, baseball
Clayton Mahuka, Nanakuli: Football, Track, baseball
Debbie Namohala, Waiakea: Basketball, Volleyball, softball
Souk Ngonethong, Kaiser: Football, soccer, track
Peter Ranta, Kalaheo: Basketball, football, track
Aaron Sumida, Konawaena: Football (BIIF Off. POY QB); Basketball, Baseball
K. Mark Takai, Pearl City: Swimming, cross country
William “J.J.” Vroom, Maui: Basketball


  1. Matt Motter May 13, 2020 11:52 pm

    Is this the only year that the Hawaii Hall of Honor DIDN’T name a Punahou student to it?

  2. Jerry Campany May 14, 2020 9:42 am

    83, 84, 85, 87, 91, 04 and 06 were the only years a Punahou athlete wasn’t selected. Will they get one this year?

    Trevor Schirman was the first Buffanblu selected, in 1986.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.