Walker, Brink lead ‘Iolani Classic all-tourney team

The 2017 ‘Iolani Classic all-tournament team: (front) Tori Maeda, ‘Iolani; Rhianne Omori, Maryknoll; Aja Phoumiphat, Centennial; (back) Most Valuable Player Eboni Walker, Centennial; Most Outstanding Player Cameron Brink, Southridge; Kylie Guelsdorf, Oregon City; Justice Ethridge, Centennial; Isabella Cravens, Maryknoll; Natalie Hoff and Maggie Freeman, Southridge. Paul Honda/Star-Advertiser (Dec. 9, 2017)

One won a championship and the other fell just short, and both are underclassmen.

Centennial’s versatile, tough junior, Eboni Walker, was named the most valuable player of the ‘Iolani Classic after her team got past pesky Southridge 53-43 for the title. Walker did a lot of tough work on the glass, rebounding against the likes of Cameron Brink, a battle between a 5-foot-11 player and a 6-4 center. In many ways, Walker’s strength in the paint, coast-to-coast playmaking and all-around talent are reminiscent of Draymond Green.

“I just try to work with my teammates,” she said.

Brink, a lanky sophomore with loads of potential, had 15 points in the tourney final.

Joining Walker and Brink on the all-tournament team:
> Justice Ethridge, who scored 25 points in the title game, and point guard Aja Phoumiphat of Centennial (Las Vegas);
> Maggie Freeman and Natalie Hoffman of Southridge (Ore.);
> Rhianne Omori and Isabella Cravens of third-place finisher Maryknoll;
> Brooke Bullock and Kylie Guelsdorf of Oregon City (Ore.);
> Clair Steele of Miramonte;
> Tori Maeda of ‘Iolani


  1. Dat Bigga Jigga December 10, 2017 1:04 pm

    Mr. Honda, please add some insight if you can. I watched every game and I think the all tourney team is way off. I mostly paid attention to the Hawaii Teams. These are the scoring stats for some kids I saw play. I don’t get how the freshman Lily didn’t make all tourney. She was the most dynamic scorer I saw from the Hawaii teams. I also thought Okamura outplayed Maeda almost every game. I am so confused.

    Over 3 Games in the Iolani Classic

    Lily Wahinekapu – 52 points
    Kellie Okamura – 35 points
    Tori Maeda – 22 points

    Kamalu Kamakawiwoole – 31 points
    Rhianne Omori – 43 points
    Bella Cravens – 28 points

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.