OIA girls hoops title games: an amazing history

Roosevelt celebrated its 2015 OIA Division I girls basketball title after beating Radford. Photo by Bruce Asato/Star-Advertiser.

Our resident Mad Librarian, Jerry Campany, scoured through the record books to create 1) a Hawaii Prep World page that summarizes every OIA girls basketball championship game (Division I) since 1977, and 2) a litany of interesting information. See below.

>> Flawless Falcons
Although Kalani has three Division II titles, it is unbeaten in a D-I title matchup winning it in 2008.

>> More game, more fun
Three of the last six OIA D-I championships have gone to overtime. Before that, there was only one OT game from 1977-2011. That was in 1981.

>> Percentages and shot selection
Since 1995, the team that hits the most 3-pointers is only 8-12-3

>> Individual points in an OIA championship
1. Brandy Richardson, 2001 Kalaheo, 41
2. Brandy Richardson, 2000 Kalaheo, 35
3. Monica Faria, 1989 Kaiser, 30
4. Latoya Wily, 2004 Kahuku, 24
5. Victoria Kintz, 2017 Kaimuki, 23*
5. Thia Palakiko, 1984 Waianae, 23
5. Polly Smith, 1977 Kalaheo, 23
8. Iwalani Rodrigues, 2007 Roosevelt, 22
8. Monica Faria, 1988 Kaiser, 22*
8. Tracey Kila, 1984 Roosevelt, 22*
8. Wendy Anae, 1983 Kahuku, 23
*—scored in a loss

>> Most 3-pointers in a OIA title game
Krystal Jacobs of Kapolei in 2011 with four. No other girl has hit more than three.

>> Highest percentage of team’s points while scoring at least 20
(All of these girls scored more than half of their team’s points)
Victoria Kintz, 2017 Kaimuki, 62 percent
Brandy Richardson, 2001 Kalaheo, 61 percent
Brandy Richardson, 2000 Kalaheo, 61 percent
Celeste Cabral, 1979 Kalaheo, 61 percent
Monica Faria, 1989 Kaiser, 53 percent
Polly Smith, 1977 Kalaheo, 53 percent
Iwalani Rodrigues, 2007 Roosevelt, 51 percent

>> Double Trouble
The only team with two players to score 20 or more in the same championship game is 2011 Farrington, with Brydgette Tatupu-Leopoldo and Kirsten Liana both scoring 20.

>> Go-to scoring
Teams are 13-6 when having at least one girl score 20 points, but four of the losses came in games in which their opponent also had a girl score 20+. Monica Faria of 1988 Kaiser and Celeste Cabral of 1979 Kalaheo are the only girls to score 20 and lose to a team that failed to have a girl score 20 against them.

Brandy Richardson and Monica Faria are the only girls to score 20 or more points in successive championships.

>> And finally…
Most points in an OIA championship: 2009 Farrington with 71
Fewest points by an OIA championship winner: 1981 Waipahu with 22
Most points by an OIA championship loser: 1989 Kahuku with 56
Fewest points in an OIA championship: 19 by Roosevelt in overtime (1981)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.