Maryknoll is rare No. 1 seed from ILH

Maryknoll players celebrated after winning the Spartans' fourth consecutive ILH championship in 2018. Photo by Bruce Asato/Star-Advertiser.

For the first time since 2009, the No. 1 seed in the Snapple/HHSAA Girls Basketball State Championships is a team from the Interscholastic League of Honolulu.

Four-time defending league champion Maryknoll is the top seed as it tries to break through for its first state title since 1978. The Spartans have lost to three-time defending state champion Konawaena in the final in each of the previous two seasons.

The Wildcats, who have won eight of the last 14 Division I state titles under coach Bobbie Awa, are the No. 2 seed. This is only the second time since 2009 that Konawaena failed to earn the No. 1 seed.

MIL champion Lahainaluna is the No. 3 seed, followed by OIA champion Kalani as the No. 4 seed.

Campbell, which finished third in the OIA, made the tournament for the first time since 2008 (Division II) and first time since 1997 in Division I.

The Division II bracket has not been released yet.

Division I

Match #DateMatchupTime/ScoresSite
1Jan. 29KS-Maui vs. MililaniKSM, 34-27KS-Maui
2Jan. 29Waiakea vs. CampbellWaik, 77-56Waiakea
3Jan. 29Moanalua vs. KaiserMoan, 42-34Moanalua
4Jan. 29'Iolani vs. KahukuIol, 88-37'Iolani
5Feb. 1(4) Kalani vs. WaiakeaWaik, 55-54 (OT)Moanalua
6Feb. 1(1) Maryknoll vs. KS-MauiMryk, 67-28Moanalua
7Feb. 1(2) Konawaena vs. MoanaluaKona, 59-32McKinley
8Feb. 1(3) Lahainaluna vs. 'IolaniLah, 38-36McKinley
9*Feb. 2Moanalua vs. 'IolaniIol, 72-38Blaisdell Arena
10*Feb. 2Kalani vs. KS-MauiKaln, 37-34Blaisdell Arena
11Feb. 2Konawaena vs. LahainalunaKona, 50-45Blaisdell Arena
12Feb. 2Waiakea vs. MaryknollMryk, 75-40Blaisdell Arena
13*Feb. 3'Iolani vs. KalaniIol, 59-37Blaisdell Arena
14*Feb. 3Lahainaluna vs WaiakeaLah, 52-45Blaisdell Arena
15Feb. 3Konawaena vs. MaryknollKona, 47-32Blaisdell Arena
* — consolation


  1. Bobby Command January 25, 2018 10:20 pm

    Great job of seeding for this tournament, given the unspoken rules that the committee has to work with. A final four of Maryknoll, Lahainaluna, Konawaena and Waiakea or Kalani is what most girls hoops watchers have expected all year, and what would make the best matchups. My gut feeling is that Maryknoll will play Konawaena in the state title game for the third straight year. I’ve watched Kona all year and the Wildcats are peaking at the right time. Maryknoll has more good players, but Kona has three special players in Cherilyn Molina, Mikayla Tablit and Caylie Kaupu, Can the Wildcats make it four straight? That’s why they play the game. Good luck to all next week. Looking forward to a great tournament

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email