VOTE: #Cover2 Award Winners

The finalists have been announced for the seven major Cover2 awards that will be handed out on the final episode of Cover2: Hawaii High School Football Weekly on Thursday, Nov. 23.

All 130 players are finalists for the Marcus Mariota Award given out to the player of the year.

Other awards are the Tommy Kaulukukui Award (best offensive player), Manti Te’o Award (best defensive player), Olin Kreutz Award (best lineman), Herman Wedemeyer Award (best two-way player), Chad Owens Award (best special teams player) and Coach of the Year.

To vote, click here.

Past winners of these awards are listed below.

Player of the Year
2015: Vavae Malepeai – RB – Mililani
2016: Tua Tagovailoa – QB – Saint Louis
2017: Chevan Cordeiro – QB – Saint Louis

Offensive Player of the Year
2013: Larry Tuileta – QB – Punahou; Bobby Lum – RB – Hawaii Preparatory Academy
2014: McKenzie Milton – QB – Mililani
2015: Tua Tagovailoa – QB – Saint Louis
2016: Taulia Tagovailoa – QB – Kapolei
2017: Kahale Huddleston – RB – Hilo

Defensive Player of the Year
2013″ Keli’i “KK” Padello – DE – Mililani; Hercules Mata’afa – LB – Lahainaluna
2014: Ofa Fahiua – LB – Hilo
2015: Isaac Slade-Matautia – LB – Saint Louis
2016: Kekaula Kaniho – DB – Kahuku
2017: Kana’i Mauga – LB – Waianae

Lineman of the Year
2014: Fred Ulu-Perry – OL – Saint Louis
2015: Michael Eletise – OL – Kaiser
2016: Mo Unutoa – OL – Kapa’a
2017: Fa’atui Tuitele – DL – Saint Louis

Special Teams Player of the Year
2014: Ranan Mamiya – KR – Farrington
2015: Keala Santiago – KR – Kahuku
2016: Stokes Nihipali-Botelho – KR – Kahuku
2017: Sekope Latu – P – Kahuku

Two-Way Player of the Year
2013: Fitou Fisiiahi – RB/LB – Kaiser
2014: Salanoa-Alo Wily – RB/DT – Kahuku
2015: La’akea Kaho’ohanohano-Davis – WR/DB – Baldwin
2016: Christian Mejia – DE/TE – Kailua; Kesi Ah-Hoy – DB/RB – Kahuku
2017: Poki’i Adkins-Kupuka’a – Campbell

2013: Rod York – Mililani
2014: Kale Ane – Punahou
2015: Vavae Tata – Kahuku
2016: Vavae Tata – Kahuku
2017: Cal Lee – Saint Louis


  1. notes November 9, 2018 5:11 pm

    It’s not that hard to coach when all you do is recruit all-star players from around the state. Cal Lee and Kale Ane should not receive ANY of these awards. Championships should be earned and not bought.

  2. Hammer November 9, 2018 8:50 pm

    People like you is stupid don’t confuse coach cal to ane remember a few years back coach cal and coach ron coach at kalani high school one of the worst team in the state and they went to the playoffs so now you going say coach cal was recruiting up your ass

  3. Dafun November 9, 2018 8:51 pm

    Notes… Kahuku sucks haha. U can complain but they’re losing this year Hahahaha!!!

  4. Robocop November 9, 2018 9:28 pm

    Note you should get the A+ for effort award. For looking for every article that has anything to do with an ILH school. You go on and repeat the same garbage over and over. You are the most active poster and the biggest cry baby on this site. How is a championship bought? How much exactly do they cost?

  5. Aiza Miguel November 10, 2018 12:49 am

    Poki kupukaa,
    He Plays With His Heart Out, Great preforming on the field and work hard where he is at right now.
    Best wishes for him, continue what do you best on the field.

  6. notes November 10, 2018 9:49 am

    How much does a championship cost? Well, someone who has a brain can actually calculate this: annual tuition is about $15,000. There are what, like 90 people on the roster? $1.35M for a championship team. That’s a lot of money to throw around and it’s why recruiting and winning championships is so high stakes for the ILH. They MUST recruit in order to make their investment worthwhile. That’s why they will try to change the rules, use 19 year old players, stack the refs with ILH graduates, and buy out the OIA to play in this poor excuse of a “league.” These “schools” are nothing more than football factories, and it disgusts me,

  7. Dafun November 10, 2018 12:41 pm

    Haha notes you’re just a Kahuku reject unlike me who actually played for st. Louis. Glad you guys are losing now!!!! Hahaha your words do crap on this site. You guys will get worked next week 🙂

  8. Keoni Ihu-Rodrigues November 1, 2019 11:49 am

    I think tre and josh should win

  9. Grandma November 21, 2019 9:04 pm

    Good Luck to all this talented football players.You worked hard for your spot on the team.
    We as parents, all want our children to win this award.
    If they had a good season or not Who ever wins this award has worked hard at every game.
    BIG Congratulations you all have earned it…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email