Tuitele headlines Cover2 award winners

Saint Louis defensive lineman Faatui Tuitele is the Marcus Mariota Award winner in 2018.

Saint Louis defensive lineman Faatui Tuitele became the third different Crusader to win the Marcus Mariota Award as the state’s player of the year handed out tonight as part of the Cover2 awards show broadcast on KHON2.

To watch the full episode, click here.

Tuitele, who committed to the University of Washington earlier this week, joined Tua Tagovailoa in 2016 and Chevan Cordeiro in 2017 as winners of the award. The initial player of the year award was handed out in 2015 to the state’s all-time career rushing record holder, Mililani’s Vavae Malepeai.

Tuitele was one of the seven players recognized as award winners.

Mililani quarterback Dillon Gabriel, who broke Tagovailoa’s career passing record for the state of Hawaii, was named the Tommy Kaulukukui Award winner for offensive player of the year. Saint Louis linebacker Jordan Botelho became just the second junior to win the Manti Te’o Award as the state’s defensive player of the year, joining Isaac Slade-Matautia in 2015.

Another Huskies commit, Kaimuki’s Sama Paama, won the Olin Kreutz Award as the top lineman in the state, while the Herman Wedemeyer Award winner as the best two-way player in the state went to Castle’s Senituli Punivai.

‘Iolani’s Mika Makekau became the first place-kicker to win the Chad Owens Award as the state’s top special teams player, and Lahainaluna co-head coach Garret Tihada won Coach of the Year honors.

The Honolulu Star-Advertiser All-State football team, which will include offensive and defensive players of the year and three full teams, will be released in mid-December.

Below is the complete list of every Cover2 award winner dating back to the first season of the show in 2013. Each award handed out tonight included six finalists.

Player of the Year
2018: Faatui Tuitele, DL, Saint Louis
2017: Chevan Cordeiro, QB, Saint Louis
2016: Tua Tagovailoa, QB, Saint Louis
2015: Vavae Malepeai, RB, Mililani

Offensive Player of the Year
2018: Dillon Gabriel, QB, Mililani
2017: Kahale Huddleston, RB, Hilo
2016: Taulia Tagovailoa, QB, Kapolei
2015: Tua Tagovailoa, QB, Saint Louis
2014: McKenzie Milton, QB, Mililani
2013: Larry Tuileta, QB, Punahou; Bobby Lum, RB, Hawaii Prep

Defensive Player of the Year
2018: Jordan Botelho, LB, Saint Louis
2017: Kana’i Mauga, DE, Waianae
2016: Kekaula Kaniho, DB, Kahuku
2015: Isaac Slade Matautia, LB, Saint Louis
2014: Ofa Fahiua, LB, Hilo
2013: Keli’i Padello, DE, Mililani; Hercules Mata’afa, LB, Lahainaluna

Lineman of the Year
2018: Sama Paama, OL/DL, Kaimuki
2017: Faatui Tuitele, DL, Saint Louis
2016: Mo Unutoa, OL, Kapaa
2015: Michael Eletise, OL, Kaiser
2014: Fred Ulu-Perry, OL, Saint Louis

Special Teams Player of the Year
2018: Mika Makekau, PK, ‘Iolani
2017: Sekope Latu, P, Kahuku
2016: Stokes Nihipali-Botelho, KR, Kahuku
2015: Keala Santiago, KR, Kahuku
2014: Ranan Mammiya, KR, Farrington

Two-Way Player of the Year
2018: Senituli Punivai, QB/LB, Castle
2017: Pokii Adkins-Kupukaa, DB/WR, Campbell
2016: Christian Mejia, DE/TE, Kailua; Kesi Ah-Hoy, DB/RB, Kahuku
2015: La’akea Kaho’ohanohano Davis, WR/DB, Baldwin
2014: Salanoa-Alo Wily, RB/DT, Kahuku
2013: Fitou Fisiahi, RB/LB, Kaiser

2018: Garret Tihada, Lahainaluna
2017: Cal Lee, Saint Louis
2016: Vavae Tata, Kahuku
2015: Vavae Tata, Kahuku
2014: Kale Ane, Punahou
2013: Rod York, Mililani


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email