Tagovailoa, Look top ILH football all stars

Tua Tagovailoa was named the ILH D-I offensive player of the year on Sunday. Bruce Asato / Honolulu Star-Advertiser.
Tua Tagovailoa was named the ILH D-I offensive player of the year on Sunday. Bruce Asato / Honolulu Star-Advertiser.

Saint Louis quarterback Tua Tagovailoa and Punahou linebacker La’akea Look were named the ILH Division I offensive and defense most valuable players on Monday.

Kamehameha’a Doug Cosbie was the coach of the year.

In Division II, Damien quarterback Marcus Faufata-Pedrina took home offensive MVP honors and Pac-Five’s Casey Nakamura was the defensive MVP.

Damien’s Eddie Klaneski was the coach of the year.

Here are the complete ILH all-star teams:

Offensive most valuable player— Tua Tagovailoa, Jr, Saint Louis
Defensive most valuable player— La’akea Look, Sr, Punahou
Coach of the year— Doug Cosbie, Kamehameha.
QB—Tai-John Mizutani, So, ‘Iolani
RB—Wayne Taulapapa, Sr, Punahou; KJ Pascua, Jr, ‘Iolani
WR—Keoni-Kordell Makekau, Sr, ‘Iolani; Drew Kobayashi, Sr, Saint Louis; Kumoku Noa, Sr, Kamehameha; Ethan Takeyama, Jr, Punahou
OL—Devin Ide, Sr, ‘Iolani; Chris-Jordan Ulufale, Sr, Kamehameha; Keenan Eldredge, Sr, Punahou; Nate Herbig, Sr, Saint Louis; Tytus Timoteo, Sr, Saint Louis
DL—Christian Naeole, Sr, ‘Iolani; Alema Kapoi, Sr, Kamehameha; Patamo Soa, Sr, Punahou; Tanielu Evaimalo, Sr, Saint Louis
LB—Melvin Hoomanawanui, Sr, ‘Iolani; Tainoa Foster, Sr, Kamehameha; Jordan Iosefa, Sr, Saint Louis; Isaac Slade-Matautia, Jr, Saint Louis
DB—Helam Baldomero, Jr, ‘Iolani; Aaron Woo, Jr, Punahou; Ronson Timbreza, Sr, Saint Louis; Jalen Saole, Jr, Saint Louis.
All-purpose: Noah Sua-Godinet, Sr, Kamehameha
KR—Kumoku Noa, Sr, Kamehameha
PK—Jet Toner, Sr, Punahou
P—Adam Stack, Jr, Kamehameha
QB—Ephraim Tuliloa, Sr, Punahou
RB—Jimmy Gonsalves, Jr, Saint Louis; Saitaua Lefau, Sr, Saint Louis
WR—Nick Kennedy, Jr, ‘Iolani; Leelan Oasay, Jr, Saint Louis; Ronson Young, Jr, Saint Louis; Keala Martinson, Jr, Punahou
OL—Joshua Hauanio, Sr, ‘Iolani; Taaga Tuulima, Sr, ‘Iolani; Julias-Pedro Muasau, Sr, Punahou; Aperaamo Augafa, Sr, Saint Louis; Aaron Miller, Sr, Saint Louis
DL—Jonah Buchanan, Jr, ‘Iolani; Nakoa Pauole, Jr, Kamehameha; Miki Suguturaga, Jr, Punahou; Samuela Mafua, Sr, Saint Louis
LB—Seyddrick Lakalaka, Jr, Punahou; Alex Skelton, Jr, Punahou; Logan Williams, Jr, Punahou; Dylan Toilolo, So, Saint Louis
DB—Kevin Matsuoka, Sr, ‘Iolani; Iosefo Noga, Jr, Saint Louis; Justin Matias, Sr, Punahou; Frank Dominick, Jr, Punahou
PK—Keoni-Kordell Makekau, Sr, ‘Iolani
‘Iolani: Tamatane Aga, Cameron Chang
Kamehameha: Thomas Yam, Andrew Aleki, Jaykob Cabunoc, Cade Pedro, Shanen Heu
Punahou: Eamon Brady, Judd Cockett, Nick Kapule, Jack-Eli Tufono, Kamauliola Aina, Paulo Soa, Alama Uluave
Saint Louis: Tristan Nichols, Nalu Paikai, Lanakila Wilson, Darcy Freitas, Michael Minihan, Noa Purcell, Jacob Tobias

Damien's Marcus Faufata-Pedrina threw for a school-record 296 yards this season and is the ILH D-II offensive MVP. Photo by Jamm Aquino/Star-Advertiser.
Damien’s Marcus Faufata-Pedrina threw for a school-record 296 yards this season and is the ILH D-II offensive MVP. Photo by Jamm Aquino/Star-Advertiser.

Offensive most valuable player— Marcus Faufata-Pedrina, So, Damien
Defensive most valuable player— Casey Nakamura, Sr, Pac-Five
Coach of the year— Eddie Klaneski, Damien
QB—Kainoa Ferreira, Jr, Pac-Five
RB—Tyson Shimabukuro, So, St. Francis; Kepono Kawaakoa, Sr, Damien
WR—Austin Ballesteros, Sr, Damien; Jarrod Infante, Sr, Pac-Five; Clayce Akeo, Jr, Pac-Five; Travis Kaloa, Jr, Pac-Five
OL—Singilau Pututau, So, St. Francis; Kawika Cameron, Sr, St. Francis; Aaryn Villamor, Sr, Pac-Five; Soane Tuihalafatai, Jr, Damien; Rush Asing, Jr, Damien
DL—Courtney Pa’aga, Sr, Damien; Justin Daise, Sr, Pac-Five; Supilani Mailei, Jr, St. Francis; Takaamoato’a Lautaha, So, St. Francis
LB—Shawn Borges, Jr, Damien; William Tam, Jr, Pac-Five; Isaac Chrichton, Jr, St. Francis; Destin Pakele, Jr, St. Francis
DB—Scott Lam, Jr, Damien; Jarin Manuel, Sr, Damien; Lawrence Carvalho, So, Pac-Five; Micah Kalei, Jr, St. Francis
All-purpose: Justice White, Jr, Damien
KR—Pono Luis-Mateo, Jr, St. Francis
PK—Kaimana Cameron, So, Damien
P—Cody Labanon, Sr, Damien
Damien: Matthew Adora, Shaun Apiki, Grayson Bueno, Pomai Kim, Josiah Medal, Aisaac Unga
Pac-Five: Kapena Fitzgerald, David Kamakea IV, Tyler Matsukawa, Matthew McGivern, Spencer Cox, Ryan Kaneshiro, Cody Masterson, Daven Pila, Denver Tong, Nathan Bek, Tyler Fukuroda
St. Francis: Chenoa Johnston, Shawn Ellis, Pensimani Haunga, Roland Merril, Tevita Otukava, Zach Alcos, Samson Kaleikau, Saia Kava, Filosofia Mafua Jr., Wembley Mailei, Ezra Inayoshi-Dudoit


  1. SimpleSimon November 24, 2015 6:44 am

    Why was Doug Cosbie the ILH D1 Coach Of The Year again? My mind is baffled on this one. Can someone break this down for me?

  2. Nick Diesel November 24, 2015 6:59 am

    Simple observation… Why would you award Tua the Offensive POY and give someone else the 1st team nod for QB?

    Also the second team QB in D1 is good, but he played half the season, and his backup had better stats. This is a prime example of names carrying weight, when on the field production should be the reason kids are awarded.

  3. Ted November 24, 2015 8:47 am

    @SimpleSimon I’m baffled by Doug Cosbie’s selection as well. He only won two games in the ILH, the defense gave up late leads to St. Louis and Punahou, and Mizutani broke the school passing record on them in their last game. The only reason that I can think of is that they were able to be competitive in games with a 3rd string QB. But that’s all I can think of.

  4. fan 1 November 24, 2015 8:56 am

    Why is Drew Koboyashi picked, lots of other receiver deserve to be picked…. terrible pick, D II player

  5. BuBeast November 24, 2015 9:26 am

    All I can say is WOW. Seriously, no offense to Iolani but as Chris Carter would say….”C’MON MAN!” You get dumped by every team in the league and you place a player at every non-specialist position on the FIRST team? Zero credibility coaches who voted. And Cosby??? Another head scratcher, you held leads on St.Louis and Punahou in almost every game going into the 2nd half and you lost all 4 of them. That is not coach of the year. Losing the QB was a blow and the team played well to be leading in those games, but still the coach of the year finds a way to win at least 1 of those 4 games. Nolan Tokuda of Leileihua would have won at least 1 of those.

  6. Jay Gatoloai November 24, 2015 9:49 am

    I guess they didn’t want st.louis taking all LB spots this year on first team.. Dylan Toilolo should’ve been 1st team..

  7. Jordan Oue November 24, 2015 7:59 pm

    Doug Cosbie??? seriosly? i’m an alumni of Kamehameha and even i know he was not the coach of the year, he was terrible, all the alumni want him gone..

  8. Kanawai Noa November 25, 2015 12:37 pm

    I don’t think these people recognize production by players on the field. Sad. Some of these players may have been good last year, but if they ain’t good this year they don’t deserve to be on the list or put on 1st team roster just because of what they did in the past. Very unfair to those that produced this year. Popular names = 1st team roster I guess.

  9. Realistic November 27, 2015 11:06 pm

    Word on the street is Coach Tata of Kahuku will be moving to UH to be a coach for the new UH HC Rolovich.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.