Saint Louis QB Jayden de Laura named Gatorade Hawaii Player of Year

Saint Louis' Jayden de Laura scored on one of his two touchdown runs in a win over Punahou to give the Crusaders a fifth straight ILH crown. Photo by Jamm Aquino/Star-Advertiser.

Saint Louis quarterback Jayden de Laura was picked as the Gatorade Hawaii Football Player of the Year, the Gatorade Company announced today

De Laura is the 12th Gatorade football honoree from the Crusaders.

The award recognizes outstanding athletic excellence, high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field.

The senior quarterback led the Crusaders to a 12-0 record and the Division I Open state championship this fall. The 6-foot, 180-pound de Laura passed for 3,452 yards and 29 touchdowns, and rushed for 341 yards and eight scores.

Having volunteered locally as an elementary-school motivational speaker and mentor, de Laura has also donated his time as a youth football coach.

“Jayden has had a terrific year,” Punahou coach Kale Ane said in a news release. “He has done everything an individual can do — run, pass and lead. He is their difference-maker.”

According to the release, de Laura has maintained a B average in the classroom.

Gatorade Hawaii Football Player of the Year honorees
>> 1985: Simnia Tiatia (Farrington)
>> 1986: Manley Williams (Saint Louis)
>> 1987: Adrian Murrell (Leilehua)
>> 1988: Adrian Murrell (Leilehua)
>> 1989: Tupu Alualu (Saint Louis)
>> 1990: Mark Atuaia (Kahuku)
>> 1991: Nate Kia (Punahou)
>> 1992: Viliami Maumau (Saint Louis)
>> 1993: Vavae Tata (Saint Louis)
>> 1994: George Ornellas (Saint Louis)
>> 1995: Jason Ching (Punahou)
>> 1996 Jason Gesser (Saint Louis)
>> 1997: Jason Gesser (Saint Louis)
>> 1998: Joe Igber (‘Iolani)
>> 1999: Timmy Chang (Saint Louis)
>> 2000: Pesefea Fiaseu (Saint Louis)
>> 2001: Jonathan Mapu (Kahuku)
>> 2002: Abel Werner (McKinley)
>> 2003: Abel Werner (McKinley)
>> 2004: Kaluka Maiava (Baldwin)
>> 2005: Dylan Rush (Konawaena)
>> 2006: Sam Fehoko (Farrington)
>> 2007: Manti Te’o (Punahou)
>> 2008: Manti Te’o (Punahou)
>> 2009: Andrew Manley (Leilehua)
>> 2010: Marcus Mariota (Saint Louis)
>> 2011: Steven Lakalaka (Punahou)
>> 2012: Larry Tuileta (Punahou)
>> 2013: Larry Tuileta (Punahou)
>> 2014: McKenzie Milton (Mililani)
>> 2015: Vavae Malepeai (Mililani)
>> 2016: Tua Tagovailoa (Saint Louis)
>> 2017: Chevan Cordeiro (Saint Louis)
>> 2018: Dillon Gabriel (Mililani)
>> 2019: Jayden de Laura (Saint Louis)


  1. ??? December 7, 2019 8:05 am

    Well deserved:
    Best Quarterback to ever come out of DAMIEN !

  2. YourFavoriteCritic December 13, 2019 9:31 am

    Before or after the girls?? LOL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email