Polynesian Bowl names 2018 head coaches


The Polynesian Bowl announced this morning that Super Bowl winning coach Dick Vermeil and College Football Hall of Famer Terry Donahue will serve as the head coaches in the 2018 Polynesian Bowl next January at Aloha Stadium.

Vermeil won a Super Bowl during his three years coaching the Saint Louis Rams from 1997 to ’99 and also served as head coach of the Philadelphia Eagles (1976-82) and Kansas City Chiefs (2001-05).

Donahue spent 19 years as head coach at UCLA from 1976 to ’95 and also worked as general manager of the San Francisco 49ers. Donahue has the most Pac-12 conference wins of any coach in history and was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2000.

Former Hawaii head coaches June Jones and Dick Tomey served as coaches for the inaugural Polynesian Bowl held this past January.

A total of 80 players have already been selected to play in the high school football all-star game. You can see the complete list here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.