Kapaa and Lahainaluna clinch league titles and state berths

Kapaa QB Kahanu Davis scored on a 5-yard TD run to give the Warriors a 20-7 lead over Lahainaluna in the second quarter of the D-II state final in 2018. Photo by Jamm Aquino/Star-Advertiser.

Kapaa and Lahainaluna are the latest Hawaii high school football teams to clinch league championships.

The Warriors defeated Waimea 31-19 at Vidinha Stadium on Saturday for the KIF title to improve to 6-1. It’s Kapaa’s second league championship in a row and sixth since 2011.

The Lunas (8-1) vanquished King Kekaulike 41-3 at home on Saturday at to wrap up their 13th MIL Division II crown.

A year ago, Lahainaluna defeated Kapaa 34-32 in a hotly contested D-II state championship game at Aloha Stadium, when the Lunas preserved their status as D-II state winners for the third year in a row.

The Warriors have been in the D-II state championship game three of the last four years, but are still looking for the school’s first state banner.

>> Neighbor Island Standings

Statewide, six other teams etched themselves into a state-tournament spot last weekend with victories — Mililani and Kahuku in the Open, Moanalua and Leilehua in D-I, and Roosevelt and Kaimuki in D-II.

Baldwin, in MIL D-I, previously sewed up a state spot.

Altogether, nine of the 14 state combatants are known, with five to be filled eventually by: the ILH Open champion, the ILH D-I representative, the OIA Open’s third-place finisher, and the BIIF’s D-I and D-II champions.

>> ILH champion: Saint Louis (9-0), Punahou (9-1) or Kamehameha (3-6)
>> OIA champion: Mililani (8-3) or Kahuku (7-3)
>> OIA runner-up: Mililani (8-3) or Kahuku (7-3)
>> OIA third place: Campbell (5-5) or Farrington (2-8)

>> BIIF champion: Hilo (9-0) or Konawaena (8-2)
>> ILH representative: Damien (8-2) or ‘Iolani (8-2)
>> MIL representative: Baldwin (4-4)
>> OIA champion: Moanalua (9-1) or Leilehua (9-1)
>> OIA runner-up: Moanalua (9-1) or Leilehua (9-1)

>> BIIF champion: Hawaii Prep (6-1) or Kamehameha-Hawaii (8-3)
>> KIF champion: Kapaa (6-1)
>> MIL champion: Lahainaluna (8-1)
>> OIA champion: Roosevelt (9-1) or Kaimuki (9-2)
>> OIA runner-up: Roosevelt (9-1) or Kaimuki (9-2)

>> Kapolei (4-6)
>> Waianae (1-9)
Division I
>> Kealakehe (6-3)
>> Waipahu (4-6)
>> Kailua (4-7)
>> Keaau (3-6)
>> Castle (2-7)
>> Honokaa (2-8)
>> Aiea (1-8)
>> Maui (1-7)
>> Radford (0-8)
>> Waiakea (0-10)
Division II
>> Kaiser (9-2)
>> Pac-Five (6-3)
>> Kamehameha-Maui (6-3)
>> Nanakuli (5-5)
>> Waialua (5-6)
>> Waimea (3-4)
>> Kalani (4-6)
>> Ka’u (3-4)
>> King Kekaulike (3-6)
>> Pearl City (3-7)
>> Kohala (2-6)
>> Kauai (1-5)
>> McKinley (1-9)
>> Pahoa (0-8)
>> Kalaheo (0-10)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.