Jayden de Laura, Ezra Evaimalo earn top honors on ILH all-star team

Saint Louis quarterback Jayden de Laura was named the ILH offensive most valuable player while Kamehameha defensive end/linebacker Ezra Evaimalo was named the defensive MVP.

The league released its all-star team in the Open Division today as voted on by league coaches.

Punahou’s Kale Ane was named coach of the year after guiding the Buffanblu to a 10-2 record and two close losses to the Crusaders.


Offensive most valuable player—Jayden de Laura, Sr., Saint Louis
Defensive most valuable player—Ezra Evaimalo, Sr., Kamehameha
Coach of the year—Kale Ane, Punahou
QB—John-Keawe Sagapolutele, Fr., Punahou
RB—Vincent Terrell, Sr., Punahou; Kawika Clemente, Jr., Kamehameha
WR—Roman Wilson, Sr., Saint Louis; Koali Nishigaya, Sr., Saint Louis; Matthew Sykes, Sr., Saint Louis; Koa Eldredge, Sr., Punahou
OL—Kahu’ike Lorenzo, Sr., Kamehameha; Solatoa Moea’i, Sr., Punahou; Alema Moeava, Jr., Punahou; Rod Dupont, Sr., Saint Louis; Kalan Ellis, Jr., Saint Louis
DL—Kuao Peihopa, Jr., Kamehameha; Hiram deFries-Saronitman, Sr., Punahou; Stanley McKenzie, Sr., Saint Louis; Sonny Masaniai, Sr., Saint Louis
LB—Nick Herbig, Sr., Saint Louis; Jordan Botelho, Sr., Saint Louis; Lawaialani Brown, Sr., Saint Louis; Legend Matautia, Sr., Punahou
DB—Chanston Kaleikoa, Sr., Kamehameha; Alaka’i Gilman, Sr., Punahou; Brian Cox, Sr., Saint Louis; Kamo’i Latu, Sr., Saint Louis
KR—Vincent Terrell, Sr., Punahou
PK—Quinn Maretzki, Sr., Punahou
P—Keola Downing, Sr., Kamehameha
Kamehameha: Micah Lilo, Sr.; Dayne Maeva, Sr.; Kaeo Rezentes, Sr.; Tevin Torres, Sr.; Jameson Hussey, Jr.; Paliku Kamaka, Jr.; Austyn Kauhi, Jr.; Kuao Peihopa, Jr.; Cayd Tollefson-Oili, Jr.; Evan Rau, So.
Punahou: Zander Manuel, Sr.; Trent Nomura, Sr.; Michael Yamada, Sr.; Andrew Canonico, Jr.; Jonah Henry, Jr.; Kahanu Kia, Jr.; Kilinahe Mendiola-Jensen, Jr.; Eli Thompson, Jr.; Siupelimani Uluave, Jr.; DJ Utu, Jr.; Akamu Moeava, So.; Tevarua Tafiti, So.
Saint Louis: Anthony Sagapolutele, Jr.


  1. Team Hawaii December 5, 2019 6:15 pm

    Tevaruq Tafiti definitely should of been first team.

  2. Choloropicrin December 5, 2019 8:15 pm

    How is DeLaura ILH Offensive POY and Sagapogutele the first team QB?

  3. Vakeleo December 6, 2019 6:43 am

    Good question Team Hawaii 🤔

  4. Trustno1 December 6, 2019 8:55 am

    Not sure what’s going on and who voted but I would have to agree with Team Hawaii. Tafiti should’ve been on this all star team and Herbig should’ve been the Defense Player of the year! I’m sure the Kamehameha boys are good but you just didn’t hear to much of them! Anyways congrats to everybody who made the all star team! 808vsEverybody

  5. ILoveHawaii December 6, 2019 9:17 am

    Tough group to break into.

    Matautia, Brown, Botelho, Herbig. All seniors.

    Maybe they decided that the young dog will have his day soon.
    Dont get me wrong, hes a great player and a good person and I look forward to watching him the next few years.

  6. ILH Allstars December 6, 2019 9:22 am

    Who really decides on these selections for the ILH? Coaches? A committee? Do they really watch the film for all positions when deciding?

    Maybe Tafiti should have made 1st team, some of the OL may be questionable, even some of the HM’s are questionable, but Herbig definitely was the D player of the year. Herbig was the most impactful player on the Crusaders D this year (and best D player on the team).

    Hopefully, this group won’t be selecting the All State Allstar selections.

  7. lettheboysplay December 6, 2019 9:28 am

    Interesting as usual…. Hebrig should’ve been Defensive Player of the Year, and Cal Lee Coach of the Year….. 2 losses is still 2 losses….. just saying

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.