Hawaii West routs American Samoa 43-6

Stokes Nihipali-Botelho and Wyatt Perez helped Hawaii West over Samoa. Jamm Aquino / Star-Advertiser
Stokes Nihipali-Botelho and Wyatt Perez helped Hawaii West over Samoa. Jamm Aquino / Star-Advertiser

Justice Young (Kamehameha) and Mark Lehrner (Kalaheo) passed for two touchdowns each as Hawaii West overwhelmed American Samoa 43-6 in the JPS Paradise Bowl third-place game on Saturday at Aloha Stadium.

The Hawaii West defense was almost impenetrable, coming up with six interceptions, including three by Iosefo Ah Ching-Noga (Farrington). Stokes Nihipali-Botelho (Kahuku), who also handled all kicking duties, had one pick, as did Leonard Lee (Kapolei) and Jonah Soakai (Radford).

Young hurled a 32-yard touchdown pass to Ryan Ramones (Moanalua) to give HW a 13-6 lead with 1:06 left in the first half. Moments later, a shotgun snap sailed high and out of the end zone for American Samoa, and the lead was 15-6.

Lehrner threw a 12-yard scoring pass to Jaymin Sarono (Kapolei) with 4:40 left in the third quarter to increase the lead to 16 points. Starter Jaren Ulu found Kingston Moses-Sanchez open for a 16-yard TD toss with 11 seconds left in the third, making it 29-6.

Young later fired a quick pass to Grey Ihu (Pac-Five), who sliced through the defense and across the field for a 55-yard TD that made it 36-6 early in the fourth quarter.

The West All-Stars capped their scoring with a 20-yard TD pass from Lehrner to Chyson “Bo” Morgan (Nanakuli).

The all-star team from Samoa held its ground defensively in the first half, led by LB/DL Blessman Ta‘ala, a 6-foot-1, 278-pound senior (Fagaitua).

Elvis Vakapuna (Kahuku) scored out of the wildcat formation for a 1-yard run to open the scoring, giving Hawaii West a 7-0 lead. American Samoa scored on a 3-yard TD pass from Raemos Fano to Ralph Taufa‘asau to cut the lead to 7-6 with 6:13 left in the second quarter.

At Aloha Stadium
American Samoa 0 6 0 0 — 6
Hawaii West 7 8 14 14 — 43
HW—Elvis Vakapuna 1 run (Stokes Nihipali-Botelho kick)
AS—Ralph Taufa‘asau 3 pass from Raemos Fano (kick blocked)
HW—Ryan Ramones 32 pass from Justice Young (kick failed)
HW—Safety, snap from scrimmage lands out of end zone
HW—Jaymin Sarono 12 pass from Mark Lehrner (Nihipali-Botelho kick)
HW—Kingston Moses-Sanchez 16 pass from Jaren Ulu (Nihipali-Botelho kick)
HW—Grey Ihu 55 pass from Young (Nihipali-Botelho kick)
HW—Chyson Morgan 20 pass from Lehrner (Nihipali-Botelho kick)

RUSHING—American Samoa: Maurice Lotovale 2-1, Luteru Ah-Loe 3-20, Josiah Ta‘ani 1-6, Adam Mao 2-4, Fano 5-17, Maurice Lotovale 2-1. Hawaii West: Vakapuna 9-52, Jaymin Sarono 2-4, Ulu 1-12, Dylan Silva 3-(-1), Steven Lombard 1-2, Lehrner 1-(-4), Mosi Afe 1-3, Wyatt Perez 1-0, Morgan 1-1, Young 1-(-2), Team 1-(-3).

PASSING—American Samoa: Fano 10-18-3-71, Talaileva Sufia 1-7-3-9, John Muliaga 0-2-1-0. Hawaii West: Ulu 6-9-0-87, Young 2-6-0-87, Lehrner 3-6-1-38.

RECEIVING—American Samoa: Moeimaotaaealaitala Falealii 2-25, Ralph Taufa‘asau 4-16, Ta‘ani 5-39. Hawaii West: Kingston Moses-Sanchez 2-69, Mosi Afe 2-2, Grey Ihu 1-55, Calvin Mock 1-3, Ramones 1-32, Silva 1-6, Sarono 2-25, Morgan 1-20.


  1. Aunty Lala January 15, 2017 6:36 am

    American Samoa’s football team always win the Samoa Bowl in Samoa. However, when they play outside of their territory, they don’t, why(?) because here we have ‘real’ officials who knows the rules. Samoa Bowl played in Samoa is a farce, why people continue to send their players and spend all that money on a vacation trip for coaches is beyond me.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.