GAME NIGHT 8/5: Damien/Moanalua

Moanalua's Alakai Yuen returns for his senior season after throwing for 2,439 yards and 27 touchdowns as a junior. Photo by Jamm Aquino/Star-Advertiser.
Moanalua’s Alakai Yuen returns for his senior season after throwing for 2,439 yards and 27 touchdowns as a junior. Photo by Jamm Aquino/Star-Advertiser.

It’s opening night in the 808 with seven high school football games scheduled for Oahu.

One of two games pitting a team from the ILH against a team from the OIA takes place in Savai’i Eselu’s debut as head coach for Moanalua Na Menehune, which hosts Eddie Klaneski’s Damien Monarchs. Kickoff is scheduled for right around 7:30 p.m.

Final: Moanalua 46, Damien 24
Moanalua 46, Damien 24
At Moanalua
Damien (0-1) 3 0 6 15 — 24
Moanalua (1-0) 0 19 14 13 — 46
DMS—FG Dylan Tapat 31
Moa—Roland Rodrigues 1 run (run failed)
Moa—Ryan Ramones 88 yard pass from Alakai Yuen (Yuen kick)
Moa—Ramones 27 yard pass from Yuen (run failed)
Moa—Rodrigues 9 yard pass from Yuen (Yuen kick)
Moa—Ramones 41 yard pass from Yuen (Yuen kick)
DMS—Marcus Faufata-Pedrina 1 yard run (run failed)
Moa—Ramones 16 yard pass from Yuen (Yuen kick)
DMS—Shaun Apiki 42 yard pass from Mar. Faufata-Pedrina (Tapat kick)
DMS—Mar. Faufata-Pedrina 10 yard run (Matt Faufata-Pedrina pass from Mar. Faufata-Pedrina)
Moa—Ramones 19 yard pass from Yuen (kick failed)

MOA: Rodrigues 8-66; Yuen 8-38; Jeremy Rodriguez 3-8; Chad Shiraishi 2-6
DMS: Mar. Faufata-Pedrina 14-93, Deacon Kapea 10-5; Akila Arecchi 4-4; Mat. Faufata-Pedrina 1-(-3)

MOA: Yuen 17-27-3-364
DMS: Mar. Faufata-Pedrina 11-24-3-135

MOA: Ramones 10-268; Rylan Miguel 2-44; Ezra Grace 2-9, Charles Reed 1-21; Brandon Bender 1-13; Rodrigues 1-9
DMS: James Livingston-Lopez 3-34; Apiki 2-48; Arecchi 2-40; Mat. Faufata-Pedrina 1-11; Kapea 1-1.

10:21: And that’s it. Na Menehune with a big win under Eselu, no small feat matching wits with Klaneski and coming out on top.

10:01 p.m.: Faufata-Pedrina scores again for Damien, this time from seven yards. Monarchs out of time, though, down 40-24 with 2:42 left.

9:43 p.m.: Damien doing work, Faufata-Pedrina to Apiki for 42 yards but Monarchs trail 40-16

9:33 p.m.: Yuen to Ramones 16 yards, Monarchs just can’t keep him from getting the ball. Moanalua up 40-9. Ramones at 208 yards, school record is 310 by Karson Kruz. Only he and Jason Sharsh has had more receiving yards than Ramones.

9:25 p.m.: Marcus Faufata-Pedrina breaks the plane frokm a yard out for Damien, but the PAT failed. Moanalua up 33-9 after three quarters.

9:15 p.m.: Yuen to Ramones again, this time from 41 yards. 33-3 Moanalua. Ramones has 6 catches for 192 yards and 3 scores, already the sixth highest yardage game in Moanalua history.

8:59 p.m.: Yuen to Rodrigues for 9 yards, Moanalua runs it to 26-3 in the third.

8:34 p.m.: Halftime. Damien can’t stop Moanalua from running up the gut. Roland Kea Rodrigues of Moanaloua has 6 carries for 53 yards, an 8.8 average, skewed by his earlier plunge. Adjustments are sure to come.

8:25 p.m.: Yuen pass to Ramones for 25 yards, but the PAT failed.
1:40 in 2Q, Na Menhune up 19-3

8:19 p.m.: Alakai Yuen of Moanalua has three picks already. 5:32 left in 2Q

8:08 p.m.: Moanalua scores again, this time on a long pass, Yuen to Ryan Ramones. Moanalua 13, Damien 3 in the second quarter.

8:03 p.m.: Moanalua scored on a plunge from the 1, but the PAT failed. Na Menehune 6, Monarchs 3.

7:50 p.m.: Damien gets on the board first with a 37-yard field goal. Three minutes left in the first.

Live updates will follow but for now, here are some notes to get you ready:

Last meeting: Moanalua’s Jay Laudato accounted for 197 total yards and three touchdowns as Moanalua won an interleague game 27-7 to open the 2011 season.

>> The teams have only played twice in the last 43 years, splitting the two meetings. Damien opened the 1989 season with a 21-0 shutout of Na Menehune at Aloha Stadium.

>> Since the start of the 2012 season, Damien is 3-1 against OIA teams.

>> Damien QB Marcus Faufata-Pedrina set the Monarchs’ single-game passing record in his last game, throwing for 296 yards in a 42-33 loss to Konawaena in the D-II state tournament last year.

>> The Monarchs have won four consecutive season openers since going 0-9 in 2011.

>> Moanalua hasn’t played a team from the ILH since 2011.

>> Savai’i Eselu is the 11th head football coach at Moanalua. Coaches in their debut games for Na Menehune are 3-6-1 all-time.

2014: Jason Cauley beat Waianae 30-23
2003: Arnold Martinez lost to Waiakea 46-12
1995: Jose Guevara lost to Aiea 35-6
1992: Clyde Fukumoto lost to Baldwin 41-7
1990: Nino Murray lost to Campbell 16-0
1984: Donald Ng beat Kalani 16-7
1980: Stan Uyeshiro tied Kalaheo 7-7
1978: Keith Morioka lost to Waimea 19-7
1976: Larry Arnold loss to St. Anthony 25-6
1973: Allen Takamori beat Kau 20-0


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email