GAME NIGHT 10/5: Roosevelt/Pearl City

Roosevelt 49, Pearl City 14, F

Final from Pearl City: Roosevelt wins 49-14. The win knocks Pearl City from the ranks of the unbeaten.

Pearl City quarterback Christian Tielu is down on the turf after taking a big shot as he released the ball. He’s being attended to, and now is able to walk off under his own power.

Sky Ogata opens the final quarter with a bang, ripping off an 83-yard touchdown run.

That’s the end of the third quarter.

Pearl City pulling out all the stops now. King uncorks a pass on a fake punt that is complete for a first down.

How about that? Pearl City recovers another onside kick!

Pearl City finally gets back on the scoreboard on a 1-yard run from Christian Tielu. This ends a streak of 28 straight scored by Roosevelt. It also stops the running clock.

There’s a break for Pearl City, as Ogata fumbles at his own ten, giving the Chargers a golden opportunity.

Pearl City with a gutsy start, attempting and recovering an onside kick.
Roosevelt ran for 254 yards in the first half. By comparison, Pearl City managed just 103 yards of total offense.

It’s halftime here at Pearl City. Roosevelt firmly in control.

Ogata hits Aaron Monteilh for a 15 yard touchdown pass, and Roosevelt has stretched the lead out to 42-7.

Makana Canyon is picked off at the Roosevelt 20. On the very next play, Mitchell Camacho sprints 80 yards for a touchdown. Score is now 35-7, Roosevelt. That puts Camacho over the century mark, with 133 yards on 8 carries.

Ogata having himself a heck of a first half, blazing 60 yards for his third touchdown of the game. Ogata now has 116 rushing yards on just 6 carries.

Kirk Calinao breaks a tackle, and then breaks loose for a 66-yard touchdown from Ogata, and Roosevelt answers right back. Rough Riders now lead 21-7.

Pearl City gets on the board, as Shayden McMoore punches it in from one yard out. PAT is good, and Pearl City trims the lead to 14-7.

Quillopo-Jamile with a huge 24 yard pass to Thomas King on a third down and 16, and as the first quarter ends, Pearl City has the ball on Roosevelt’s 1.

Pearl City’s offense finally coming alive. Chargers moving the ball through the air, and has the ball at the Roosevelt 18 as the Roughriders call timeout.

Ogata breaks contain on a Pearl City blitz, and sprints 33 yards for his second TD of the day. Roosevelt now leads 14-0.

Penalties stall out Pearl City’s drive. Short punt is fielded at the PC 47, giving Roosevelt great field position to open its second drive.

Sky Ogata with the keeper, sprinting around the right side for a 7-yard score. Roosevelt draws first blood.

Pearl City’s opening drive ended in Roosevelt turnover, as Quillopo-Jamile is intercepted at the Roosevelt 32.

Roosevelt has won the coin toss and elected to defer. Pearl City will get the ball first.

For Pearl City’s roster, click here
For Roosevelt’s roster, click here
SERIES HISTORY: Pearl City leads Roosevelt 8-7-1


Makana Canyon762-115-569610
Christian Tielu938-104-55328
Adam Puchert613-29-01470
Micah Quillopo-Jamile910-20-21252
Thomas King101-1-0200
Tex Kang10743421
Christian Tielu9431602
Pookela Moses-Espanto10391490
Mikey Ortiz-Maae9211132
Herbert Hallers924950
Gabriel Parrish217341
Shayden McMoore815153
Adam Puchert68131
Jensen Kealoha1240
Jordan Oshiro4130
Micah Quillopo-Jamile94-160
Makana Canyon719-990
Thomas King10384308
Pookela Moses-Espanto10142122
Micah Quillopo-Jamile9171973
Herbert Hallers9161932
Stanton Hong781151
Jordan Oshiro47962
Dallas Ching67520
Gabriel Parrish24480
Aifua Moe23320
Melanie Oandasan12320
Justin Pfau71211
Mikey Ortiz-Maae91170
Tex Kang92160
RJ Kami101151
Adam Puchert62100
Isaiah Galanto1140


Sky Ogata14129-228-71,1857
Tamaki Iijima311-32-22332
Brandon Teixiera52-4-1291
Sky Ogata1412285014
Mitchell Camacho131207334
Myka Kukahiwa13894255
Keneke Gusman12512144
Aalona Monteilh11391644
Tamaki Iijima222640
Myka Maikui15411
Kevin Davis37330
Scott Chung116320
Caine Fitiausi-Fung4190
Nicholas Ogata10150
Isaac Kaleikau4140
Devin Naihe2110
Brandon Teixiera56-50
Kawai Tully-Sabog11-50
Marcus Hee21-90
Jason Hur11-90
Scott Chung14433180
Aalona Monteilh11222683
Nicholas Ogata10202271
Kirk Calinao461442
Isaac Kaleikau4101420
Mitchell Camacho139950
Caine Fitiausi-Fung56661
Myka Kukahiwa1313570
Josh Maikui11481
Wesley James44250
Ty DeBrum11130
Keanu Charlesworth11120
Devin Naihe11100
Micah Romalete1190
Jason Hur1160
Kaulana Koki1160
Lansyn Adama1150
Brandon Teixiera51-40


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email