GAME NIGHT 10/12: St. Francis/Roosevelt

St. Francis 20, Roosevelt 14

Final from Roosevelt: St. Francis 20, Roosevelt 14

Mitchell Camacho now down on the turf for Roosevelt. Able to get up and walk off under his own power.

Shepherd Kekahuna scores! 55 yard sprint gives St. Francis back the lead, 20-14 with 5:37 left.

Huge break for St. Francis. After a short punt by the Saints gave Roosevelt first down at the Saints 35, a fumble by Keneke Gusman gives them the ball right back at the 37, with 9:45 left to go.

That’s the end of the third quarter. Trainers are working on the right ankle of Bubba Akana, but it appears his night is done.

Bubba Akana is down. Gets up and tries to hop off the field, then collapses to the turf again. Jonah Aina-Chaves in at quarterback.

Sky Ogata answers for the Rough Riders, sprinting in for a 20-yard score, knotting the game at 14 with 2 minutes left in the quarter.

Jonan Aina-Chaves breaks off a 19-yard TD run, giving St. Francis its first lead of the game. He then adds a two-point conversion, and St. Francis leads 14-7. Aina-Chaves now has 126 yards rushing on the night.

At the end of the first half, Roosevelt leads St. Francis 7-6. The two teams have played a sloppy half, with the two teams combining for 154 yards of penalties

Jonah Aina-Chaves breaks through for St. Francis, scoring from 5 yards out! Two-point conversion is no good, and Roosevelt leads 7-6.

Touchdown Roosevelt! Keneke Gusman rips off a 35 yard touchdown run, and the Rough Ruders draw first blood, 7-0.

With 5:30 left in the second quarter, the two teams have combined for 103 yards of offense. Also combined for 94 yards of penalties.

First quarter comes to a close, but not without drama, as Roosevelt star tailback Mitchell Camacho is down and being attended to.

Siotame Haunga was just ejected for an unsportsmanlike conduct.

After two drives apiece, the two teams have combined for negative-5 yards, and a fumble that sets up St. Francis at the Roosevelt 35.

Game set to begin. St. Francis will receive the kickoff.

Players are back on the field warming up. Game set to start (maybe) in 15 minutes.

Start of the game has delayed due to lightning in the area. Decision on if the game will be played or not will be determined soon. If weather does not improve within 30-45 minutes, game might be cancelled.

For St. Francis’ roster, click here
For Roosevelt’s roster, click here
SERIES HISTORY: First meeting … This is St. Francis’ third trip to Ticky Vasconcellos Stadium, two of them were this year … The Saints beat McKinley earlier this year for their first win there … St. Francis’ eight game-winning streak is easily the longest in school history, double its previous long … Roosevelt’s six-game winning streak is its longest since 1983. The Rough Riders have not won seven games in a row since its legendary streak of 24 from 1956-58.


Updated: Oct. 13, 2018

Bubba Akana872-148-61,26510
Jonah Aina-Chaves821-48-13225
Alden Rosa70-1-000
Jonan Aina-Chaves81-1-0-130
Jonan Aina-Chaves81371,28915
Shepherd Kekahuna9101702
Dayton Leong5131283
Jonah Aina-Chaves8351140
Kain Lyman410553
Bubba Akana846501
Zack Shiraki27310
Makana Poole87250
Alden Rosa74240
Chase Akana7140
Jett Hakikawa1130
JP Tilley72-20
Shepherd Kekahuna9194064
Jonan Aina-Chaves8192592
Jett Tanuvasa591910
Chase Akana7101772
Kordel Ng571572
Alden Rosa7111212
Dayton Leong571001
Zion Paro-Amina35760
Makana Poole84421
Noah Mackenzie11151


Sky Ogata14129-228-71,1857
Tamaki Iijima311-32-22332
Brandon Teixiera52-4-1291
Sky Ogata1412285014
Mitchell Camacho131207334
Myka Kukahiwa13894255
Keneke Gusman12512144
Aalona Monteilh11391644
Tamaki Iijima222640
Myka Maikui15411
Kevin Davis37330
Scott Chung116320
Caine Fitiausi-Fung4190
Nicholas Ogata10150
Isaac Kaleikau4140
Devin Naihe2110
Brandon Teixiera56-50
Kawai Tully-Sabog11-50
Marcus Hee21-90
Jason Hur11-90
Scott Chung14433180
Aalona Monteilh11222683
Nicholas Ogata10202271
Kirk Calinao461442
Isaac Kaleikau4101420
Mitchell Camacho139950
Caine Fitiausi-Fung56661
Myka Kukahiwa1313570
Josh Maikui11481
Wesley James44250
Ty DeBrum11130
Keanu Charlesworth11120
Devin Naihe11100
Micah Romalete1190
Jason Hur1160
Kaulana Koki1160
Lansyn Adama1150
Brandon Teixiera51-40


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email