D-II tourney has outer island flair

Shannon Kamakaokalani and J.W. Kenton celebrated King Kekaulike's win in the only state Division II final pitting neighbor island teams. Jamm Aquino / Star-Advertiser
Shannon Kamakaokalani and J.W. Kenton celebrated King Kekaulike’s win in the only state Division II final pitting neighbor island teams. Jamm Aquino / Star-Advertiser

While the Division I side of the First Hawaiian Bank/HHSAA Football State Championships is down to four Oahu teams, the Division II tournament features three of the final four residing outside of Oahu.

All four leagues are represented, including KIF champion Kapa’a, which hosts MIL champion Lahainaluna on Saturday afternoon at Vidinha Stadium.

This will be the eighth time two Neighbor Island teams will play each other in a state tournament game and the fourth time it has happened in a semifinal game. The only title game involving two outer island teams was the 2006 D-II final when King Kekaulike defeated Kauai, 33-20.

Overall, the MIL leads the KIF and BIIF with 14 wins in the state tournament. (Lahainaluna 6, Baldwin 5, King Kekaulike 2, KS-Hawaii). The KIF has won 12 games with Kauai winning seven, Waimea winning three and Kapa’a winning twice. Konawaena beat Damien 42-33 last Saturday to earn the BIIF’s third win. Hawaii Prep had previously won twice in the first round.


2003 D-II first round: Lahainaluna 21, Hawaii Prep 14 (Michael Kopra, HPA, state-tourney record 274 rushing yards)
2004 D-II first round: Kauai 49, Pac-Three 7 (Kekoa Crowell, Kauai, 181 passing yards)
2005 D-II first round: KS-Maui 14, Kauai 7 (Keahi Rikes, KSM, 132 passing yards)
2006 D-II title game: King Kekaulike 33, Kauai 20 (Shannon Kamakaokalani, KK, 134 rushing yards)
2009 D-II semifinal: Kauai 28, Hawaii Prep 14 (Trey Shimabukuro, Kauai, 208 passing yards; Keanu Yamamoto, HPA, 247 passing yards)
2011 D-II first round: Lahainaluna 23, Konawaena 6 (Jared Rocha, Lah, 2 TD runs)
2014 D-II second round: Lahainaluna 52, KS-Hawaii 7 (Makoa Sione Filikitonga-Lukea and Jared Rocha-Islas, LAH, 3 TD runs each; tied most points scored in state tournament by outer island team)


  1. The Rim November 10, 2015 5:49 pm

    Konawaena’s win was the forth for BIIF. KS Hawaii beat Nanakuli last year 42-20 in the first round.

  2. TGOD November 11, 2015 10:02 am

    Good for the outer island kids, showing they can not only compete with the Oahu squads. But that they can beat them as well. Good luck to all the remaining teams, enjoy the ride!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.