Christmas Day: All-State Football wrapped up

The 2014 Honolulu Star-Advertiser All-State Football Team will be published in Thursday’s edition. Selections were done by ballot and voted on by coaches and media. Check out editor Curtis Murayama’s intricate work on the trading card-style layout and design. It’s a beautiful thing.


While we wait, here is a list of previous offensive players of the year. (HSA is Honolulu Star-Advertiser, HA is Honolulu Advertiser and HSB is Honolulu Star-Bulletin. If no newspaper is listed, both of them agreed. Feel free to comment below to fill in missing information):

2014: McKenzie Milton, QB, Mililani (HSA)
2013: Larry Tuileta, QB, Punahou (HSA)
2012: Aofaga Wily, RB, Kahuku (HSA)
2011: Kenan Sadanaga, QB, Leilehua (HSA)
2010: Marcus Mariota, QB, Saint Louis (HSA)
2009: Ryan Ho, RB, Kamehameha (HSB) and Andrew Manley, QB, Leilehua (HA)
2008: Andrew Manley, QB, Leilehua
2007: Kama Bailey, RB, Damien (HSB) and Micah Mamiya, QB, Saint Louis (HA)
2006: Miah Ostrowski, WR, PUnahou (HSB) and MIcah Mamiya, QB, Saint Louis (HA)
2005: Kealoha Pilares, RB, Damien
2004: Jayson Rego, RB, Kamehameha
2003: Matt Bell, RB, Farrington (HSB) and Jeremy Perry, OL, Kahuku (HA)
2002: Bobby George, QB, Saint Louis (HSB) and B.J. Batts, RB, Saint Louis (HA)
2001: Inoke Funaki, QB, Kahuku (Both papers) and Mulivai Pula, RB, Kahuku (HA)
2000: Pesefea Fiaseu, RB, Saint Louis
1999: Timmy Chang, QB, Saint Louis
1998: Joe Igber, RB, Iolani
1997: Joe Igber, RB, Iolani
1996: Tafiti Uso, WR, Punahou
1995: Darnell Arceneaux, QB, Saint Louis
1994: George Ornellas, AP, Saint Louis
1993: Brian Ah Yat, QB, Iolani (HA) and George Ornellas, SB, Saint Louis (HA)
1992: Brendyn Agbayani, WR, Saint Louis (HA)
1991: Glenn Freitas, QB, Waianae (HSB) and Joel Lane, QB, Saint Louis (HA)
1990: Mark Atuaia, RB, Kahuku (HA) and John Hao, QB, Saint Louis (HA)
1989: Mark Atuaia, RB, Kahuku (HA)
1988: Micah Matsuzaki, WR, Saint Louis
1987: Shannon Cabunoc, WR, Saint Louis (HA) and Sam Bailey, OB, Waianae (HSB)
1986: Richard Stevenson, RB, Kahuku (HA)
1985: Garrett Gabriel, OB, Pac-Five (HA)
1984: Phillip Ke-a, WR, Leilehua (HA)
1983: Sean Kinilau, OB, Saint Louis (HA)
1982: Lakei Heimuli, RB, Kahuku
1981: Cliff Kaneaiakala, OB, Kaiser (HA)
1980: Mike Beazley, QB, Waianae (HA)
1979: Boyd Yap, OB, Kaiser
1978: Paul Goo, QB, Saint Louis (HA)
1977: James Holt, RB, Waianae
1976: David Hughes, OB, Kamehameha (HA)
1975: Blane Gaison, QB, Kamehameha (HA)
1974: Willy Galoia, OB, Farrington (HA)
1973: Mosi Tatupu, RB, Punahou (HA)
1972: Alex Kaloi, QB, Leilehua (HA)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email