Campbell’s Titus Mokiao-Atimalala headlines Cover2 award winners

Campbell’s Titus Mokiao-Atimalala took home the top honor Thursday night during the one-hour season finale of Cover2: Hawaii High School Football Weekly on KHON2.

Mokiao-Atimalala won the Marcus Mariota Award, joining previous winners Vavae Malepeai (Mililani), Tua Tagovailoa (Saint Louis), Chevan Cordeiro (Saint Louis) and Faatui Tuitele (Saint Louis).

The season finale of Cover2 can be viewed by clicking here.

Mokiao-Atimalala averaged 103.3 receiving yards per game this season while also playing safety on defense. He is currently fourth on Oahu’s all-time career receiving list with 2,915 yards in 32 games and is on pace to shatter the record next year.

Saint Louis quarterback Jayden de Laura won the Tommy Kaululukui Award as offensive player of the year and linebacker Nick Herbig won the Manti Te’o Award given to the defensive player of the year.

Lahainaluna’s Tuipulotu Lai won the Olin Kreutz Award as the lineman of the year and Punahou’s Vincent Terrell took home the Chad Owens Award as the special teams player of the year.

Hilo’s Kilohana Haasenritter won the Herman Wedemeyer Award as the top two-way player and Kaimuki’s David Tautofi was honored as the coach of the year.

The Honolulu Star-Advertiser/Hawaii Prep World All-State football teams will be released in mid-December.

Below is the complete list of every Cover2 award winner dating back to the first season of the show in 2013. Each award handed out Thursday night included six finalists.

Player of the Year
2019: Titus Mokiao-Atimalala, WR/DB, Campbell
2018: Faatui Tuitele, DL, Saint Louis
2017: Chevan Cordeiro, QB, Saint Louis
2016: Tua Tagovailoa, QB, Saint Louis
2015: Vavae Malepeai, RB, Mililani

Offensive Player of the Year
2019: Jayden de Laura, QB, Saint Louis
2018: Dillon Gabriel, QB, Mililani
2017: Kahale Huddleston, RB, Hilo
2016: Taulia Tagovailoa, QB, Kapolei
2015: Tua Tagovailoa, QB, Saint Louis
2014: McKenzie Milton, QB, Mililani
2013: Larry Tuileta, QB, Punahou; Bobby Lum, RB, Hawaii Prep

Defensive Player of the Year
2019: Nick Herbig, LB, Saint Louis
2018: Jordan Botelho, LB, Saint Louis
2017: Kana’i Mauga, DE, Waianae
2016: Kekaula Kaniho, DB, Kahuku
2015: Isaac Slade Matautia, LB, Saint Louis
2014: Ofa Fahiua, LB, Hilo
2013: Keli’i Padello, DE, Mililani; Hercules Mata’afa, LB, Lahainaluna

Lineman of the Year
2019: Tuipulotu Lai, OL/DL, Lahainaluna
2018: Sama Paama, OL/DL, Kaimuki
2017: Faatui Tuitele, DL, Saint Louis
2016: Mo Unutoa, OL, Kapaa
2015: Michael Eletise, OL, Kaiser
2014: Fred Ulu-Perry, OL, Saint Louis

Special Teams Player of the Year
2019: Vincent Terrell, KR, Punahou
2018: Mika Makekau, PK, ‘Iolani
2017: Sekope Latu, P, Kahuku
2016: Stokes Nihipali-Botelho, KR, Kahuku
2015: Keala Santiago, KR, Kahuku
2014: Ranan Mammiya, KR, Farrington

Two-Way Player of the Year
2019: Kilohana Haasenritter, WR/DB, Hilo
2018: Senituli Punivai, QB/LB, Castle
2017: Pokii Adkins-Kupukaa, DB/WR, Campbell
2016: Christian Mejia, DE/TE, Kailua; Kesi Ah-Hoy, DB/RB, Kahuku
2015: La’akea Kaho’ohanohano Davis, WR/DB, Baldwin
2014: Salanoa-Alo Wily, RB/DT, Kahuku
2013: Fitou Fisiahi, RB/LB, Kaiser

2019: David Tautofi, Kaimuki
2018: Garret Tihada, Lahainaluna
2017: Cal Lee, Saint Louis
2016: Vavae Tata, Kahuku
2015: Vavae Tata, Kahuku
2014: Kale Ane, Punahou
2013: Rod York, Mililani


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email