BIIF and MIL 8-man FB leagues ready to start

The Big Island Interscholastic Federation 8-man football league will open the 2016 season on Saturday, Aug. 27, when Ka‘u visits Pahoa at 1 p.m.

The Maui Interscholastic League 8-man football starts on Sept. 16, when Lanai visits Hana for a 6 p.m. game.

The two leagues’ defending champions are Kohala (BIIF) and Molokai (MIL). Previous league champions were Ka‘u (2014, BIIF) and Seabury Hall (2013 and 2014, MIL).


Once up to six teams, the MIL is down to four (Molokai, Seabury Hall, Lanai and Hana). St. Anthony dropped out after the 2014 season and Kihei Charter did not have enough players to field a team this season.

There are three teams in the BIIF — Kohala, Ka‘u and Pahoa.

The BIF and MIL 8-man football schedules follow.

Saturday, Aug. 27
BIIF

>> Ka‘u at Pahoa, 1 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 10
BIIF

>> Kohala at Pahoa, 11 a.m.

Saturday, Sept. 17
BIIF

>> Pahoa at Ka‘u, 1 p.m.


Saturday, Sept. 24
BIIF
>> Ka‘u at Kohala, 1 p.m.
MIL
>> Hana at Molokai, 11 a.m.

Saturday, Oct. 1
BIIF
>> Pahoa at Kohala, 1 p.m.
MIL
>> Hana vs. Seabury Hall, 10 a.m., at War Memorial Stadium
>> Molokai at Lanai, 11 a.m.

Saturday, Oct. 8
BIIF
>> Kohala at Ka‘u, 1 p.m.
MIL
>> Molokai at Seabury Hall, 10 a.m.
>> Lanai at Hana, 6 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 15
BIIF
>> Ka‘u at Pahoa, 1 p.m.
MIL
>> Seabury Hall at Lanai, 11 a.m.

Thursday, Oct. 20 through Saturday, Oct. 22
MIL
>> Playoff, seed 2 vs. seed 3, date, site and time TBA

Saturday, Oct. 22
BIIF
>> Pahoa at Kohala, 2 p.m.


Thursday, Oct. 27
MIL
>> Championship game, site and time TBA

Saturday, Oct. 29
BIIF

>> Kohala at Ka‘u, 2 p.m.

COMMENTS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.

*