1997 prep football all-star teams

As the 2017 Honolulu Star-Advertiser’s football All-State team release draws near, periodically we are going to ask a spreadsheet to generate a random number between 1947 and 2016.

Whichever year pops up, we will post that season’s all-star pages here.

Saint Louis continued its run through Prep Bowls with its 12th in a row, earning senior defensive lineman Tony Tata defensive player of the year honor by both newspapers. They agreed on the offensive player as well, giving it to ‘Iolani junior running back Joe Igber after he broke Mosi Tatupu‘s single-season rushing record.

Big names can be found in the Advertiser’s honorable mention selections, including quarterbacks Shawn Withy-Allen and Neil Rose and receivers Chad Owens and Kenny Patton.

The papers did not blow out the coaches’ all-league lists, where Jason Gesser shared ILH honors with Igber.

Doubleclick the images to zoom in.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.