1986 prep football all-star teams

Walter Santiago (Kahuku), Joe Silva (Pearl City), Henry Marks (Saint Louis) and Richard Stevenson (Kahuku) were some of the brightest stars in 1986.

The 1986 prep football all-star teams had the same top players in each newspaper.

Saint Louis defensive lineman Manly Williams won the defensive and lineman of the year honors while Kahuku tailback Richard Stevenson won offensive and back of the year honors.

The Honolulu Advertiser went with Pac-Five quarterback David Searle on its first team while the Star-Bulletin chose Kahuku’s Walter Santiago as its quarterback.

Leilehua’s Adrian Murrell, as a sophomore, made the Advertiser’s first team.

Notable players to make both first teams include Saint Louis DB Tom Heffernan, Farrington DB Roger Boyd, Farrington LB Tuli Tafai, Kahuku LB Byron Beatty and Kamehameha WR Nelson Wong.

For a listing of all prep football all-star teams over the years that have been posted, click here.

Doubleclick the images to zoom in.

Subscribers to the Star-Advertiser can search full-page archives going back two years for free (pages are not available on the archive for 30 days after publication) at Newspapers.com. To access digitized newspapers from farther back — all the way to 1840 — subscriptions to staradvertiser.newspapers.com are available for $7.95 per month or $29.95 for six months.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.