1977 football

Championship game

Waianae 27, Punahou 6

Waianae 13-6-0-8–27

Punahou 0-0-0-6–6

Wai: James Holt 5 run (Haudenschild kick)

Wai: Holt 1 run (kick failed)

Wai: Holt 7 run (run failed)

Pun: Gabriel 18 run (kick failed)

Wai: Brown 9 run (Brown run)

Rushing–Waianae: Holt 24-118, Paredes 16-99, Brown 8-47, Mahuka 8-36, Siliga 3-4. Punahou: Gabriel 7-43, Tanaka 7-34, kamana 2-24, Kaneshiro 4-22, Sequeira 9-19, Oshima 3-5.

Passing—Waianae: Siligo 1-2-0-25. Punahou: Gabriel 6-18-2-89. Oshima 2-6-1-32, Sequeira 0-1-1-0.

Receiving–Waianae: Kaaekushiwi 1-25. Punahou: Knowlton 3-59, Sequeira 3-29, Tanaka 1-20, Kamana 1-13.

All state team

1977 Coach Doug Bennett Punahou

1977 OE Bill Sealy Kaiser

1977 T Keith Ah Yuen Kamehameha

1977 G Herman Clark Punahou

1977 C Mike Mori Punahou

1977 G James Crowell Kaiser

1977 T Cyrus Cariaga Waianae

1977 FL Ray Ligsay Pearl City

1977 QB Darryl Gabriel Punahou

1977 RB Francis Sequeira Punahou

1977 RB James Holt Waianae Back of the year

1977 RB Andrew Moody Waipahu

1977 DL Mark Tuinei Punahou Lineman of the year

1977 DL Henry Kaulia Waianae

1977 DL Willie Kamakana Punahou

1977 DL Wayne Apuna Saint Louis

1977 LB Matt Karratti Farrington

1977 LB Curtis Azevedo Hilo

1977 LB Richard Mello Kamehameha

1977 LB Glenn Matsumoto Kailua

1977 DB Nathan Fletcher Waianae

1977 DB Brad Thiessen Kaiser

1977 DB Puifate Fiso Kahuku


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.