1975 prep football all-star teams

As the 2017 Honolulu Star-Advertiser’s football All-State team release draws near, periodically we are going to ask a spreadsheet to generate a random number between 1947 and 2016.

Whichever year pops up, we will post that season’s all-star pages here.

We continue with 1975, the year Blane Gaison and Kamehameha ruled the roost over OIA champion Waianae.

Mililani joined the OIA in the first year of Aloha Stadium, which helped the league draw 150,719 fans after getting 97,969 the previous year. Each of the OIA’s 21 schools earned a check of $17,000, an increase of $11,000 from 1974.

At the bottom of the all-stars is Prep Bowl coverage by both newspapers.


  1. KOH I NOR December 3, 2017 1:40 pm

    1975 prep bowl. Wow. There was no Aloha Stadium yet.

  2. bumbuchas December 3, 2017 4:37 pm

    Awesome trip down memory lane Jerry! Mahalo!

  3. Kam December 3, 2017 5:14 pm

    That was the first year the stadium was open!

  4. Kawika Freitas December 8, 2017 4:37 pm

    Aloha is there a way to get a copy of this.

  5. Nea kalani December 9, 2017 7:47 pm

    Hi! How can i get a copy of this?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.