1974 prep football all-star teams

Blane Gaison parlayed a successful career at Kamehameha into a stint with the Rainbows.

As the 2017 Honolulu Star-Advertiser’s football All-State team release draws near, periodically we are going to ask a spreadsheet to generate a random number between 1947 and 2016.

Whichever year pops up, we will post that season’s all-star pages here.

This time it is 1974, when current ILH director Blane Gaison won the Prep Bowl for Kamehameha over Leilehua.

Even with the quarterback’s heroics to end his junior year, he was shut out of the Honolulu Advertiser’s All-State team behind Raymond Haynes of Farrington, Victor Humalon of Waianae and Kapaa’s Bruce Layman.

Gaison couldn’t even get a sniff in the ILH all-star selections, finishing behind Punahou’s Duane Akina and tied with Darwin Luna of Saint Louis on the Honolulu Advertiser’s second team.

Farrington’s Willy Galoia was the back of the year and Leilehua’s Al Harris was a resounding pick for lineman of the year. The Star-Bulletin didn’t even mention him on its second team, choosing Luna, Verner Ah Ching of Punahou, Damien’s Allen DeAguiar and Weston Correa of Saint Louis instead.

The OIA East was ruled by Galoia and his Farrington mates and the West belonged to Harris, Waianae back Mike Vierra and lineman Hansel Kane.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.