1965 prep football all-star teams

ILH champion Farrington dominated the top awards in 1965 with quarterback Stanley Cadiente named back of the year and center Ambrose Costa winning lineman of the year honors from both the Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star-Bulletin.

McKinley halfback John Coen was the only junior named to the first team by the Advertiser after setting an ILH record with 109 points in a season.

The Bulletin had three juniors on their squad with tackles Richard Lolotai of ‘Iolani and Clarence Dias of Kamehameha joining Coen.

Farrington’s Tom Kiyosaki was voted the coach of the year for leading the Govs to their first title in 21 years.

Kailua went undefeated to win the rural Oahu Interscholastic Association title and swept the top awards. Guard Hal Fitchett was named the lineman of the year and quarterback Peter O’Sullivan and halfback Eddie Chung shared the back of the year honors by the Advertiser. The Bulletin went with Fitchett and Chung with its top awards.

Alex Kane was coach of the year after going undefeated with the Surfriders in his first season in charge. This was the third year in a row Kailua went undefeated to win the league crown.

Radford had a sophomore make the Bulletin team in fullback Ramese Faleafine.

For a listing of all prep football all-star teams over the years that have been posted, click here.

Doubleclick the images to zoom in.

Subscribers to the Star-Advertiser can search full-page archives going back two years for free (pages are not available on the archive for 30 days after publication) at Newspapers.com. To access digitized newspapers from farther back — all the way to 1840 — subscriptions to staradvertiser.newspapers.com are available for $7.95 per month or $29.95 for six months.


  1. ??? March 31, 2018 8:38 am


  2. Coach C March 31, 2018 12:25 pm

    Too bad they didn’t list defensive all Stars in those days. Lots of players went 2 ways.

  3. Coach C March 31, 2018 12:30 pm

    I also like the old ads. Check out that 66′ Chevy coupes truck on the last page. Classic! Oh and Cassius Clay vs.Floyd Patterson fight at the Waialae Drive In. Lol. You young punks no remember yeah.

  4. Bumbuchas March 31, 2018 1:34 pm

    Thanks Jerry, very interesting! Stanford Kamana; became Mililani FB HC, Darryl Sakai, became HC at his alma Mater, Allen Takemoto, Charlie Lacaden, Tommy Heffernan and probably others; all gave back to the game by coaching. Neat to see some of them how they looked in their high school days.

  5. Bumbuchas March 31, 2018 1:36 pm

    Hal Fitchett, Peter O’Sullivan too!

  6. boolakanaka April 1, 2018 6:50 am

    If I’m not mistaken Eddie Chung was the first local player to play at Boise State. In his later years helluva of a softball player and paddler.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.