1954 prep football all-star teams

Iolani's Henry Hedani scored in an upset of Punahou in 1954.

ILH champion Punahou, ‘Iolani and Roosevelt each placed three on the Honolulu Advertiser ILH all-star team while the Buffanblu had four on the Star-Bulletin’s list.

Buffanblu quarterback Harry Pacarro, Roosevelt fullback Al Bader and Punahou halfback Tom Fink were unanimous selections.

Rural OIA champion Waialua landed six on the Honolulu Advertiser all-star team but only four on the Star-Bulletin squad while runner-up Waipahu placed six.

All four unanimous selections on the Star-Bulletin team were Bulldogs: guard Walter Yamada, tackle Stanley Takenaka, end Thomas Shizuru and halfback Danny Bajo. Bajo was the only repeat first-team selection from the previous season.

For a listing of all prep football all-star teams over the years that have been posted, click here.

Doubleclick the images to zoom in.

Subscribers to the Star-Advertiser can search full-page archives going back two years for free (pages are not available on the archive for 30 days after publication) at Newspapers.com. To access digitized newspapers from farther back — all the way to 1840 — subscriptions to staradvertiser.newspapers.com are available for $7.95 per month or $29.95 for six months.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email hawaiiprepworld@staradvertiser.com.